Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by KNERD

  1. I have been using Thunderbird email client. I have since discovered it is using Spamassassin.. It never did stop any of those coming from Eonix.net. Though I do see it is stopping some spam, as noted with the spam in the Junk folder. None of which has ever been from Eonix.net IP blocks.


    On the other hand, I have seemed to of blocked all of Eonix.net as I have not gotten a single spam from them since my last posting.


  2. How about this guy?




    Pete Wellborn, the Spammer Hammer, ...

    obtained a $25 million judgment against a Tennessee spammer engaged in massive identity theft and credit card fraud. More than three fourths of Wellborn's practice relates to the prosecution of civil cases against parties involved in spamming, spoofing, and/or Internet fraud. Wellborn has had a primary practice focus on Internet Law since 1996. He represented EarthLink against Howard Carmack, the "Buffalo Spammer," in a $16.4 million case and won. He has been suing spammers since 1998, and has never lost a spam case.


    On 5/14/2020 at 10:51 AM, ArtmakersWorlds said:

    Ok, NOT being a computer tech here, how would I use spamassassin with yahoo email on a mac computer.   If that's even possible? I think it's not. 


    The  Thunderbird client has it already included, and will sent it to your junk folder (if it detects the email as spam).


  3. It seems Spamcop no longer has the clout it had some years ago. I still report, but nothing usually gets done from most of those service providers. Also to get blocked, it has to be a few people reporting (not sure of the number of reports) the same spammer on the same IP address.

    I used to get 10+ spams a day from one provider. The fact the spams came from sequential  IP addresses tells me the provider is in cahoots with the spammer. I then tried some other block lists. After reporting, I would see the spammer IP addresses listed in various spam lists, and blocking services I was using on the email server, but for some unknown reason the spam/IP address was not being blocked. 

    I gave up on block lists and started just blocking that provider IP range. Then I got confirmation the provider is in cahoots with the spammer, when I started getting more batches of spam from another of their data centers in the same manner as before.




  4. I guess I will need to look at spam Assassin.  Since I posted this, I have had to blocked three more Eonix data centers/IP block ranges (Even had something come in from SpamChimp). They are clearly spam friendly. Maybe time for a campaign to ARIN to have their IP addresses revoked? Do they even do that?

    With the mass amount of reporting of Eonix I did through Spamcop, it seems it just does not have the clout it had in the past.


    Thanks for the input.

  5. For many months now, I had been getting ten or more spams from their network. I would report each and every one of them, and would see the ports would go to poc@eonix.net  or abuse@eonix.net. After about four months, and the spams still kept coming day after day despite reporting, I decided to  just go ahead and block the IP range from which the spams would come from.  That sure did stop eonix.net from sending anymore more; so I thought.

    A week later more spams would start arriving from eonix.net, Looking, I see they are coming from a new block of IP addresses at a different location.

    This has been repeating for a while now.

    Another reason I am asking if eonix.net is helping spammers is because these spams were not coming from the same IP address, but the next IP address in numerical sequence. Ten or more spams, all coming from the next number up in an IP address? I mean come on now, they have to be helping, right?

    Anyone know of their reputation?



    Here is another thing. For a while I decided to add the Sorbs Blacklist.The reason is because after each report for spam from eonix.net, I would see the IP address is on Sorbs.  I have noticed it is easy to get listed on there and stay listed. So I add their blacklist, and guess what? The spam from eonix.net listed on Sorbs is still getting to my email server, but legit mail such as from PayPal is getting blocked by Sorbs! They in cahoots also?

  6. Yes, this is an old thread, but useful information to add.

    I have never received  a single op in from Spamchimp, but yet have continued to get spammed by them nearly on a daily basis from unknown persons/entities.

    What I ended up doing to fight spam chimp is to setup my own email server. Using their own IP "whitelist" people can use to "make sure our [spammy] emails get to you," I turned it into a IP range blacklist with a nasty message using Postfix.


    Now running my own server, I have run into a different breed of spammers. Those working from home sending me spam from their business class cable powered Internet such  as from Verizon, and  Comcast. I reported them through Spamcop, and blocked specific IP instead of the IP range. Their providers don't seem to care, so I have ended up blocking entire IP ranges, which I hate to do, but each day, the same persons are sending similar emails, just getting a slightly different IP number.

  7. I setup my own server.


    When adding I am getting an error.

    Sorry, all tests failed.

    We cannot deliver mail to the address you provided: me@at.com. Double check the address provided or try again later. Your mailhost appears to be offline.

    Detailed errors:

    Connecting to mail.netservisity.com.:
    smtpSend:smtpEnvelope (service@admin.spamcop.net, trent@netservisity.com): smtpTo rcpt to:me@at.com (450 4.7.1 : Helo command rejected: Host not found )

    Sometimes, mailservers are temporarilly unavailable. If you believe you have entered your email address and other details correctly, you might just wait a few minutes (or 24 hours) and try again.


    Server has been up for a month, or so and been sending/receiving mail just fine.


    Why is this indicating offline?




  8. The reports mostly going to devull is because originator of the email domain, and the IP number owner  are one in  the same according to ARIN.

    I guess stuff from everyone! Wayfare com , Gamestop (someone opened a rewards account with my email address in the store), ESPN, CBS Sports, Reader's Digest (Someone got a sub from them and I get spam from them) , University of Oklahoma (Someone went to school there, now they spam me)...I even get email from state of Ohio concerning application for concealed handgun permit, and nursing licensing.

    The reports go to the trash, and the report threshold never activate any block.


  9. It seems I have a very poplar email address, and I often get emails from people thinking it is someone else, and unconfirmed subscribe requests on a daily basis, and it is getting worse all the time. I report this UCE everyday, but it always goes to devnull, and so few people reporting the spam it does nothing to help the spam problem, thus Spamcop has become utterly useless, and wastes my time in reporting

    How about taking this so-called "legitimate" spam more serious, and take more drastic measures such as automatic block on those who refuse munged reports?

    I am at the point where I need to just stop reporting any spam to Spamcop all together since it is doing nothing to curb spam, and close down that email account I have had for over 10 years.










    I had been getting a ton of spam from this address which the abuse contact was abuse[at]sendgrid.com.

    Now they are getting DevNulled.. Instead of sending to trash, reports then should go higher up the chain to combat this growing problem. My spam is skyrocket s from so-called "legitimate" spammers.

    Per Softlayer's policy

    "SoftLayer reserves the right to suspend peering for an indefinite period of time should any form of network abuse be verified to take place via the peering interconnect such as denial of service attacks (DOS), unsolicited bulk email (spam), or setting default-route to SoftLayer."


    I short chat with them, and they state "You can send your complaint and findings to abuse[at]softlayer.com. They will investigate and suspend the customer's servers if they can verify your claim."