Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About Keats

  • Rank

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location
    Melbourne, Australia

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Keats

    Any point in reporting spam from AMAZONAWS?

    I got this response from Amazon on one of the reports I sent: "We've determined that an Amazon EC2 instance was running at the IP address you provided in your abuse report. We have reached out to our customer to determine the nature and cause of this activity or content in your report" So, they've basically asked the spammer if he's spamming. I'm sure he'll give them a scrupulously honest answer...
  2. Keats

    Any point in reporting spam from AMAZONAWS?

    I've also started getting this rubbish in the last few weeks... On receiving each one (to my Gmail address), I do the following: Hit "Show Original", and copy the header info. Come to SpamCop and enter it, as usual. I also report the IP address(es) at abuseipdb.com Forward the original message to the following addresses: ec2-abuse at amazon.com , email-abuse at amazon.com , abuse at amazonaws.com , abuse at google.com , and network-abuse at google.com , after pasting the header info in. If the phishing e-mail purports to be from a well-known company - Costco, PayPal, Chase Bank, etc - I also forward it to whatever their abuse / anti-phishing report address is. I've noticed that the latest batches now also include cisco.com and yelp.com addresses.
  3. Keats

    Why does abuse@amazonaws.com get /dev/null?

    While amazonaws are certainly slime for refusing to accept reports from SpamCop, and refusing to act on spam reported directly to them, Google are no better: all the amazonaws spam I receive is coming from the same sender, with their scams being hosted on either storage.googleapis.com/wadrari , storage.googleapis.com/wadraritest or variants thereof - I report each one to Google, and have never received any sort of response.
  4. Keats

    Spamcop cannot find source IP

    Incredibly frustrating that you not only have to cut lines of text to make the parser work, but that it's different lines of text depending on what service the e-mail was received at. The whole "For Gmail - hop up and down on your left leg while patting your head with your right hand and rubbing your tummy with your left hand in a counter-clockwise direction"; for Hotmail - hop up and down on your right leg while patting your head with your left hand and rubbing your tummy with your right hand in a clockwise direction" thing is just unworkable for me. As a result of getting constant spam in my Hotmail account over the last three months, I'm shutting it down - during the "30 day cooling of period", I'm having mail redirected from it to my Gmail account. But, the redirected spam e-mails I get there are now basically unreportable. No matter which line of text I cut as per the instructions in this thread, I either get Microsoft or Google as the source, not the actual source. That's of no use at all. The whole attraction of SpamCop for me was that it was a simple matter of cutting-and-pasting the headers. Now it's devolved into a sort of guessing game - "Cut this line, and see what happens!".
  5. tencent.com don't care about spam sent via their system - they won't accept SpamCop reports, and I've manually sent dozens and dozens of reports to them over the last six months, not a single acknowledgement, and the spam keeps coming. There's no dedicated "abuse" address, and no response from the harveyduan@tencent.com address
  6. This is the most recent one: https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426947784zd400d222c4a07fb7da5b3080951aa6bbz And some others: https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426941673ze1a964ed7e03213649842257f159b91cz https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426771614zbb8947f61954f8a055494edbd782dfefz https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426681004za749351979f4ed8b8bd90edbb12bfc7fz https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426608159z79931ebcf2e9b07072f6808d8da488bcz https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426588843zb219b8f4fa100ab3f089e5db3b4f5586z https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426214306zc619b165994b08d458fd7ff20a20be07z https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426204022z9683d152a5fec93b6fc29a91bbf03f3bz https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426201772z2196d862ad1a60bd86a43d5ac97ba5c4z https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6426117331zea78da03e9730d6d4b192e44f1cd79c1z https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6425995995z4770a60e8b907df7cba97a9c0b93c6cbz
  7. Over the last fortnight, I've had cause to report numerous e-mails coming from IP addresses in the - range. SpamCop is listing these as coming from Host1Plus.com, and is sending reports to abuse@host1plus.com. I've posted on one of Host1Plus's social media pages requesting that they take action (as the SC reports don't appear to having any effect), and they're claiming that the IP range is nothing to do with them. WHOIS searches shows that the range actually belongs to NodeBlade Solutions LLC (although at least one also shows the range as being allocated to AFRINIC). Another search shows Quadraet as being involved. I've begun manually adding abuse@nodeblade.com in the "User Notification" field - just wondering why SC is returning Host1Plus.com as the source instead of NodeBlade? Alternatively, it's quite possible that I'm misunderstanding something!