Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by guppy

  1. Hi just attemped to report first item of spam after registering with mailhost. Headers say, Received: from orange [] by orange.tootech.net with ESMTP (SMTPD32-8.15) id A483370292; Tue, 05 Apr 2005 00:57:55 +0100 Received: from ([]) by orange with SMTP id; Tue, 5 Apr 2005 00:57:55 +0100 and I get the parse results, 0: Received: from ([]) by orange with SMTP id; Tue, 5 Apr 2005 00:57:55 +0100 No unique hostname found for source: Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts Will not trust anything beyond this header No source IP address found, cannot proceed. so does this mean it's complaining about or that it doesn't like the orange part? slightly confused. Thanks, G.
  2. That IP has nothing to do with us, our servers are in the UK, that was the spammer. So it sounds like if our spam filters put the full domain in we'll be okay. Interestingly, when I change the orange to smtp.tootech.net which is the public address in the MX records (same machine) then it still fails when I played with it. I'll chase the spam vendor and try again.if after that then I guess I'll trawl through the pinned posts to see if theres anything esle that we can do. Other option is not to report spam, which would seem a shame. G.
  3. yes it even deleted the host and did it again pasting the text directly out of the mailbox file in to the box provided which was verified. when i goto my mailhost tab on the web site the Hosts/Domains: dropdown is blank, however the Relaying IPs: is completed correctly.
  4. could it be that the mx records for the domain receiving the email is smtp.tootech.net yet the machine that really says it's receiving the email it orange.tootech.net? they are one in the same. also, http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z749386087zf7...4c007e662e99e3z
  5. Yes is the actual sender. For some reason the spam filtering software is not putting the full host name in the headers. the ventor is investigating this. however even if i manually make it orange.tootech.net then spamcop still complains. and yes it is our own server. G.
  6. just tied another item and get a similar message, so i guess it's complaining about the orange part. manually made it the full orange.tootech.net but it still complained. any ideas? G.