Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About boxter

  • Rank
  1. boxter

    Also blocked, not blacklisted

    turetzsr: My hosting company responded: "you can request your recipients to ask their admins to allow the mails from your domain." They further mention that they can not control the actions of other servers and hence we cannot force them to remove us from their blacklist similarly no other company can force us to remove their IP's from our blacklist. Not what I requested. They did not address: "SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week" -their typical not our fault/nothing we can do response. Maybe less than 10 is good. I know we were not one of the 10 and did not generate: A message from your constituent - PLEASE SUPPORT UNIVERSAL ONLINE VOTING THIS... as Jeff G added. We are hoping to get through the next 24 hours without one of their customers spamming again to temporarily clear our name. Meanwhile, I am shopping for a new hosting service. You get what you pay for. spam control is a new criteria. I have also learned from this experience that while our previous email marketing is well intentioned, the bar has been raised for what is defined as spam. For fear of losing subscribers who would benefit from our information, we have not proactively requested subscribers to confirm their subscriptions. We will explore some methods to achieve this. We're considering outsourcing our e-nurturing to a service like constant contact. It's not easy considering the scope of this disruption. But, I can begin to understand how this is helping with the spam problems we all face. We will try to be part of the solution vs. part of the problem. If web hosting companies can not govern their customers, they will lose them. If that happens enough, things will improve. All that said, this is experience is a genuine nuisance. I have to vent just a little.
  2. boxter

    Also blocked, not blacklisted

    Thanks Wazoo. I have now communicated with "abuse" as you suggest. We have been doing a monthly email blast sent only to "subscribers" who have granted permission. While this could potentially be the problem, judging from the links you provided, this is not the source of the problem. Especially since we have not done any bulk mailing in three weeks. The issues reported are within 10 days. With your assistance, I now believe it is our Web Hosting Co. that has some of their customers causing a problem for all. Our organization is not able to guarantee that this will not occur again within 24 hours. Only our hosting company can and likely will not. I am still learning about this but now believe it is best for us to change hosts and find one that has more control of the spamming habits of their customers.
  3. My email is being blocked. However, I checked my IP address: It is not blacklisted. For the first time today, I had emails from two different recipients blocked. Headers as follows with email prefixes XXX-ed out __________________________________________ A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed: XXX[at]chicagolandec.org SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:<XXX[at]chicagolandec.org>: host groupware.chicagolandchamber.org []: 550 5.7.1 has been blocked by bl.spamcop.net ------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------ Return-path: <XXX[at]vista-development.com> Received: from adsl-68-74-155-42.dsl.emhril.ameritech.net ([] helo=SBC) by pro18.msshost.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.52) id 1Em0P6-0002nD-DQ for XXX[at]chicagolandec.org; Mon, 12 Dec 2005 21:00:37 -0600 _______________________________________________ BLOCK #2 SMTP error from remote mail server after end of data: host mail.spectruminc.com []: 554 5.7.1 Message cannot be accepted, content filter rejection bl.spamcop.net ------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------ Return-path: <XXX[at]vista-development.com> Received: from adsl-68-74-155-42.dsl.emhril.ameritech.net ([] helo=SBC) by pro18.msshost.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.52) id 1Elwrf-0004gN-5N for XXX[at]peacockcolors.com; Mon, 12 Dec 2005 17:13:51 -0600 _________________________________________________ I should also mention that our email domain has been hijacked in the past by spammers in the past offering stock tips. But those would not have originated from our IP address. Can someone help us to resume normal business e-communication and avoid this issue with others? Thanks!