Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About ariel817

  • Rank
  1. There needs to be something in the registration process that helps an uninformed person find out their IP address. Had anyone else from my company tried to solve this.... they'd have not had a clue what an IP address is, let alone how to figure out ours. Maybe -- the message board message when you start a new topic in the block list help area could have a blank that specifically SAYS IP address (and a link to how to find out what IP address you are on for the unknowing)... That seems to be the common issue -- people want to think in terms of domains, and not IPs. The majority of people barely know what an IP is. So even the help files that say post IP address doesn't help that much with that kind of user.. I dunno, just an idea.... I know how many people in my office don't know what an IP is, and as soon as a help is posted without one, the automatic response is you don't have enough info to really help.
  2. *Blush* You are considerably too kind! Like DavidT claims (but more truly so), I generally know just enough to be dangerous, so thank heavens for intelligent people willing to donate their time and knowledge to others! In my book, y'all get the kudos! But I do know what you mean.. I'm sure most exchanges are people coming and blustering and angry... mostly frustrated, but definitely not in the mode to take helpful suggestions well. On the other hand, where are you guys when I call tech support somewhere (anywhere)? Why can't tech support people be as smart and helpful? Haha!
  3. Well, I did add a rule to our firewall that blocked all outbound port 25 traffic except for our servers... and lo & behold, found two computers slamming away at the rule.... So -- I think I have 1) found our problem computers, and 2) Closed off the problem from ever getting us blacklisted again in the outside world, because at least they are just beating themselves up against the firewall rule. I will check out the Barracuda backscatter info. Y'all have NO idea how MUCH I appreciate the quality and quickness of your responses! You are all awesome! THANKS! Linda
  4. From what I could see at CBL, and since we are behind a NAT, I could possibly have a user with a virus sending out email that I don't see in my email server logs... am I understanding their stuff correctly? I did miss that some messages say spamcop but use something else... The good news is that today I seem to have a tech support guy who knows what he's doing, so at least the missing reverse dns entry will be fixed shortly!
  5. Whoa - thanks for the good info. On the first report, and the red links -- that's bothersome, to put it mildly. Can you tell me, is that all of CBeyond, or just my domain? On Reverse DNS, I will work on that. I assume that I'm ultimately correct and the CBeyond customer support was wrong -- it's on THEM to provide it, and has nothing to do with Network Solutions (where we registered our particular domain). On the SpamCop/SpamHaus thing -- how do I look into that further? I seem to be getting more confused, not less! (But not your fault, and I am very grateful for the help and suggestions already provided..)
  6. I wasn't sure.. so I did try sending you an email message, and it bounced back immediately with this error: <underwood+forum[at]spamcop.net>: host mx.spamcop.net[] said: 553 http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip= (in reply to RCPT TO command) Reporting-MTA: dns; mail.basdensteel.com X-Postfix-Queue-ID: 307E716A1 X-Postfix-Sender: rfc822; linda[at]basdensteel.com Arrival-Date: Mon, 23 Oct 2006 12:00:05 -0600 (MDT) Final-Recipient: rfc822; underwood+forum[at]spamcop.net Action: failed Status: 5.0.0 Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; host mx.spamcop.net[] said: 553 http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip= (in reply to RCPT TO command) I also sent email to my gmail account, to see the headers, per your 2nd suggestion -- since in both I see the IP address I expected to see, I think it puts that question to rest? X-Gmail-Received: 0b61c000169b659b9655f98d91ef0f456e7b73e6 Delivered-To: ariel817[at]gmail.com Received: by with SMTP id x18cs689193huf; Mon, 23 Oct 2006 10:59:20 -0700 (PDT) Received: by with SMTP id y12mr5935229pym; Mon, 23 Oct 2006 10:59:19 -0700 (PDT) Return-Path: <linda[at]basdensteel.com> Received: from mail.basdensteel.com ([]) by mx.google.com with ESMTP id r15si1090449nza.2006.; Mon, 23 Oct 2006 10:59:19 -0700 (PDT) Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of linda[at]basdensteel.com) Received: from [] (unknown []) by mail.basdensteel.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 4391016A1 for <ariel817[at]gmail.com>; Mon, 23 Oct 2006 12:00:54 -0600 (MDT) Message-ID: <453D02ED.8010602[at]basdensteel.com> Date: Mon, 23 Oct 2006 12:59:09 -0500 From: Linda Webb <linda[at]basdensteel.com> Wazoo: We are a small'ish company behind a firewall and on a T1 & 1/2 provided by CBeyond. We have an email server and webpage that we host on a Linux server located on premises. I'm not sure, but is it surprising to have it all on the one IP address? Since we do our own webhosting and email hosting, I mean.... Okay, I won't pretend not to be confused... but I do know that the range of public IPs assigned to me by CBeyond is 34-38, so 26 isn't us. I would assume that's a different CBeyond customer. I have had a problem with AOL user accounts, and CBeyond not providing a reverse lookup (they kicked the problem to me, but I don't believe that even though we are assigned this IP, that we control enough to add a reverse entry, and I think I need to get CBeyond to do something.. That being said, could this error be part of that same problem? Although, since the error message specifically mentioned SpamCop, you'd think we'd show up here... unless it would be the same error for a missing reverse DNS entry.
  7. Hello all, I've read the FAQs and the pinned topics, so I hope I'm doing this right.. I have an in-house email server at our domain - basdensteel.com, One of the users here received the following bounce message: <lester[at]kupermanortho.com>: host mail.kupermanortho.com[] said: 550 Rule imposed as jeanne[at]basdensteel.com is blacklisted on SpamCop (see www.spamcop.net) (in reply to RCPT TO command) Further down, there was another block of information, similar to the above: Reporting-MTA: dns; mail.basdensteel.com X-Postfix-Queue-ID: DC10E16A0 X-Postfix-Sender: rfc822; jeanne[at]basdensteel.com Arrival-Date: Mon, 23 Oct 2006 09:28:30 -0600 (MDT) Final-Recipient: rfc822; lester[at]kupermanortho.com Action: failed Status: 5.0.0 Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; host mail.kupermanortho.com[] said: 550 Rule imposed as jeanne[at]basdensteel.com is blacklisted on SpamCop (see www.spamcop.net) (in reply to RCPT TO command) However, when I went to the page where I enter our IP address to find out why we're blacklisted (as per all the FAQs and links).... I get a response that we are NOT. So... why this email bounce? The weird thing, the bounce message didn't confirm our IP address, but I do know basdensteel.com is and we do our email on an in-house server. Thank you for the help! Let me know if I didn't include enough information.. I tried! Linda Webb