Strange Dell Latitude issue

mrmaxx

The laptop is a Dell Latitude D531. It works fine wirelessly if it's docked or not. It does NOT work wired if it's undocked. The current user is a local admin on the machine. Even if I log him out and log in as myself it doesn't work and I'm a domain admin.

If you go into the network properties and try to enable the NIC, it says "Windows is unable to enable this device" and just goes away.

Any ideas? I'm kinda baffled on this one.

----EDIT----

I have narrowed this down to a software issue. I'm going to as the mods to move this to the "software" section. thanks!

Coming in a bit late, maybe you've already got it sorted ... but, the first jump to me (making the assumption that Windows is involved) would be the 'computer/hardware profile' .... the 'undocked' mode disabling the hardware ethernet interface, or possibly simply not recognizing it at all in that mode.

Moved the Topic, as per your request.

Coming in a bit late, maybe you've already got it sorted ... but, the first jump to me (making the assumption that Windows is involved) would be the 'computer/hardware profile' .... the 'undocked' mode disabling the hardware ethernet interface, or possibly simply not recognizing it at all in that mode.

Thanks. Yeah... somehow the "undocked" profile seems to be disabling the NIC. I'm going to try to delete that hardware profile and see if it recreates it (I hope.)

The laptop is a Dell Latitude D531. It works fine wirelessly if it's docked or not. It does NOT work wired if it's undocked. The current user is a local admin on the machine.

<snip>