Community Builder - Joomopolis

ibanez0r

Hey guys, greetings from Melbourne, Australia, my name is Cameron James im a web developer, and well.. to cut a long story short my boss asked me to install Community Builder for him, its a CMS addon for Joomla! Anyway i did this, and then the boss wanted some customization done, which i begun doing, ill just say at this point Community Builder is a free product there is no charge associated with it!

I quickly discovered the lack of documentation, almost like it was excluded from the package, so i sent the owner of Joomopolis a mail asking him about it.

quote "Hey nick, all I wanted was some documentation, which I noticed is not available to non subscribers :( this Is a mean trick u guys use to build sales! So I cant test to see if your product will in fact be suitable, so I guess CB I will advise my boss not to use it. *disheartend"

Nick sent me back a rather rude obnoxious email which i wont paste here, i went to reply to it and recieved the following error:

Reporting-MTA: dns;BLU004-OMC1S10.hotmail.com

Received-From-MTA: dns;BLU404-EAS126

Arrival-Date: Wed, 11 Jun 2014 06:18:19 -0700

Final-Recipient: rfc822;nant[at]joomlapolis.com

Action: failed

Diagnostic-Code: smtp;554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [65.55.116.21] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?65.55.116.21

Is this usual for your clients to add people to your block lists for simply asking for customer support?

Sorry to hear about your problem. Several things to consider in this situation:

1. Free software ~ some times you get what you pay for, meaning price and quality my be related.

2. Good software documentation is expensive and hard to develop. Often good programmers are not as good at explaining to others (in writing) how the software works. At any rate a company has the right to distribute their software and/or documentation as they please.