Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Why was I blocked?

Recommended Posts


I had an email bounced back from one of my web design customers, stating in the header :

(reason: 501 5.7.1 <???[at]russhosting.com>... Sender refused by the DNSBL bl.spamcop.net)

The return/from address was my domain [at]russhosting.com, and was sent through my ISP mail server [at]execulink.com.

What has me concerned is that (i) I've never sent an unsolicited email in my life (I'm in the internet business and know better), and (ii) I was trying to communicate time-critical site updates to a paying web design client.

So, is it my domain (russhosting.com) or my ISP (execulink.com) that's been blocked, and how do we get it unblocked ASAP so I may communicate with my client? Alternately, who should my lawyer send a letter to? ;)

Russ Jackman

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

The only way we can give you detailed information is if we know the exact IP address involved. The bounce message should have told you that. It sounds like it did not.

Without any further information, you can just read about the blacklist at http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this