Yahoo Mail-lists Bounced (?!!?)

j0hnw

I have been using SpamCop quite happily for several months. However, on Sunday(22nd) I stopped receiving certain emails, and I'm not sure if it's due to SpamCop.

I have an email address at a personal "vanity" domain that is forwarded to my SpamCop mail account. I then pop mail from SpamCop using Eudora. As I said, this has been working great for several months. I have not made any configuration changes to my system or my email program.

However, starting last Sunday the 22nd (as near as I can figure), I stopped receiving any messages from the four Yahoo Groups mailing lists I belong to. It took me a couple of days to notice because everything else was working normally (ie. still received other emails; still had new spam in Held Mail; etc).

Today, I received a message from Yahoo saying that all the mail-list messages sent to me were bouncing. I check the "Bounce History" of my Yahoo groups account, which reported the error: "Remote host said: 553 66.218.66.* mail rejected due to excessive spam (DBP Attack

1093068460 66.218.66.*) [RCPT_TO]"

At this point, I'm suspecting that SpamCop is bouncing all Yahoo mails (which surprises me). Does this sound plausible ? My SpamCop account has the SpamCop and the SpamHaus XBL blacklists enabled. Would this be causing bounces ? I guess I always assumed all suspect mail would be held, not bounced outright.

Any help or suggestions on how to allow the Yahoo mail-lists to "flow" again would be greatly appreciated. At this point, I'm no even sure where the source of the problem is (ie. with SpamCop, with Yahoo Groups, etc ).

Thanks,

j0hnw