reporting web promotion spams

Hi, I am a newbie here

I cannot see the answer to this question elsewhere, so here goes.

spammer sends a message saying "I will promote your site www.<domain>"

this gets reported to spamcop as junk - quite right, too

But, how (or does) the system determine the spammer is the sender of the message, and the URL is the victim? Or will any URL in the message be treated as spam advertised?

But, how (or does) the system determine the spammer is the sender of the message, and the URL is the victim? Or will any URL in the message be treated as spam advertised?

Any URL that is parsed is treated as spam advertised. Before submitting the reports, please uncheck any sites you believe are the "victim". That is one of the reasons the confirmation is there.

P.S. There is an additional check in that these reports go to the ISP hosting the site. If the report is actually read, it will probably be obvious that the site is a victim and no drastic action will be taken. There have been reports to the contrary, however, so please be careful.

Or, if your web host also runs the mail server on which you receive email, instead of unchecking the box next to your web host, leave it checked, but add a text blurb stating that you had nothing to do with the spamming, but that your website was mentioned in the spam.

That way, if your web host / email provider can filter out subsequent spam from that spammer, they at least have a chance to.

how (or does) the system determine the spammer is the sender of the message, and the URL is the victim?

The magic art of tracking the spam back to its source (not necessarily the spammer) is what makes the SpamCop tool set (in)famous. It's done by tracking the details in the message header, looking for the starting point it used to weasel its way onto the Internet. Once the headers and source of the spam is located, then the body of the spam is analyzed. Links found there are identified.