Very odd.

Greetings,

I've been using Spamcop webmail for over two years now and I regularly send mail to a friend of mine with it. Today I started getting this and I thought I might bring it to someone's attention.

-

The following message to <shiva51[at]mchsi.com> was undeliverable.

The reason for the problem:

5.1.0 - Unknown address error 550-'216.154.195.49 blocked by blacklist.sequoia.ops.asp.att.net.\nBlocked for abuse. Please contact the administrator of your ISP or sending mail service.'

-

My Spamcop mail has been blocked for abuse? I haven't been a mail admin for many years but this is kind of strange. I tried a few more mails to him and they all bounce back with the same message.

What makes you think that is odd? This would not be the first time that an ISP "retaliates" against SpamCop in some way. Usually it's just angry comments, but in some cases the ISPs try to restrict SpamCop users from sending mail to or receiving mail from the ISP's users. In your case it looks like they blocklisted c60.cesmail.net, the machine that sends out all the mail submitted via webmail.

Workaround: Send your mail to this person through another server, for example, your ISP's SMTP server.

What makes you think that is odd? This would not be the first time that an ISP "retaliates" against SpamCop in some way. Usually it's just angry comments, but in some cases the ISPs try to restrict SpamCop users from sending mail to or receiving mail from the ISP's users. In your case it looks like they blocklisted c60.cesmail.net, the machine that sends out all the mail submitted via webmail.

Workaround: Send your mail to this person through another server, for example, your ISP's SMTP server.

28788[/snapback]

I think it's odd because in two years of them being off and on the SpamCop blacklist, they suddenly out of the blue decide to do it.

As for a workaround, I'm just using my ISP's mail against my better judgement.