Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Jeff G.

Reporting System outages/instability

Recommended Posts

Well, there were half a dozen dips since 08:30 EST -0500 (13:00 UTC -0000) yesterday (that is, in the past 24 hours).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
News: (Last Modified: Monday 2005/12/05 08:39:38 -0500)...

Occasional system outages and error messages.

We are still encountering some error messages and system outages. These may take the form of error messages when retrieving a page on the reporting system or a failure to be able to log in. If you encounter these situations, please wait a couple of minutes and try again. Please do not change your password unless you are certain that you have forgotten your password and need a new one. Thanks for your patience.

The email system is not affected by the above problems.

Thanks to DavidT for the notice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A drop started at about 11:30 EST -0500 (16:30 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 11:35 EST -0500 (16:35 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 11:45 EST -0500 (16:45 UTC -0000). The Parser is still "SpamCop v 1.514".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A dip started at about 00:15 EST -0500 (05:15 UTC -0000), it turned into a drop at about 00:25 EST -0500 (05:25 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 00:35 EST -0500 (05:35 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 00:55 EST -0500 (05:55 UTC -0000). The Parser is still "SpamCop v 1.514".

Edited by Jeff G.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A drop started at about 13:50 EST -0500 (18:50 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 14:05 EST -0500 (19:05 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 14:20 EST -0500 (19:20 UTC -0000). The Parser is still "SpamCop v 1.514".

Edited by Jeff G.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A dip started at about 03:05 EST -0500 (08:05 UTC -0000), it turned into a drop at about 03:20 EST -0500 (08:20 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 03:45 EST -0500 (08:45 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 04:40 EST -0500 (09:40 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 06:05 EST -0500 (11:05 UTC -0000) and ended at about 06:10 EST -0500 (11:10 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 14:45 EST -0500 (19:45 UTC -0000), it turned into a drop at about 15:00 EST -0500 (20:00 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 15:05 EST -0500 (20:05 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 16:20 EST -0500 (21:20 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 16:45 EST -0500 (21:45 UTC -0000), it turned into a drop at about 16:55 EST -0500 (21:55 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 17:00 EST -0500 (22:00 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 17:10 EST -0500 (22:10 UTC -0000).

The Parser is still "SpamCop v 1.514".

Edited by Jeff G.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There appears to be a new wrinkle, a 5-minute delay (such that the rightmost set of pixels is now permanently empty).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A drop started at about 13:20 EST -0500 (18:20 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 14:35 EST -0500 (19:35 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 16:05 EST -0500 (21:05 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 02:00 EST -0500 (7:00 UTC -0000) and ended at about 02:10 EST -0500 (07:10 UTC -0000).

The Parser is still "SpamCop v 1.514".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
News: (Last Modified: Thursday 2005/12/08 15:16:12 -0500)...

Occasional system outages and error messages.

We are still encountering some error messages and system outages. These may take the form of error messages when retrieving a page on the reporting system or a failure to be able to log in. If you encounter these situations, please wait a couple of minutes and try again. Please do not change your password unless you are certain that you have forgotten your password and need a new one. Thanks for your patience.

The email system is not affected by the above problems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A dip started at about 07:30 EST -0500 (12:30 UTC -0000) and ended at about 07:55 EST -0500 (12:55 UTC -0000).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A dip started at about 17:55 EST -0500 (22:55 UTC -0000) and ended at about 18:00 EST -0500 (23:00 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 22:00 EST -0500 (03:00 UTC -0000) and ended at about 22:05 EST -0500 (03:05 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 01:55 EST -0500 (06:55 UTC -0000) and ended at about 02:05 EST -0500 (07:05 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 02:30 EST -0500 (07:30 UTC -0000), it turned into a drop at about 02:40 EST -0500 (07:40 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 02:55 EST -0500 (07:55 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 03:35 EST -0500 (08:35 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 08:10 EST -0500 (13:10 UTC -0000) and ended at about 08:20 EST -0500 (13:20 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 18:45 EST -0500 (23:45 UTC -0000), it turned into a drop at about 19:00 EST -0500 (00:00 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 19:10 EST -0500 (00:10 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 19:55 EST -0500 (00:55 UTC -0000).

The Parser is still "SpamCop v 1.514".

Edited by Jeff G.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A drop started at about 07:40 EST -0500 (12:40 UTC -0000) yesterday, recovery started at about 07:45 EST -0500 (12:45 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 07:50 EST -0500 (12:50 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 10:15 EST -0500 (15:15 UTC -0000) yesterday and ended at about 10:20 EST -0500 (15:20 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 19:35 EST -0500 (00:35 UTC -0000) and ended at about 19:40 EST -0500 (00:40 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 20:10 EST -0500 (01:10 UTC -0000) and ended at about 20:20 EST -0500 (01:20 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 23:15 EST -0500 (04:15 UTC -0000) and ended at about 23:20 EST -0500 (04:20 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 02:50 EST -0500 (07:50 UTC -0000) and ended at about 02:55 EST -0500 (07:55 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 06:25 EST -0500 (11:25 UTC -0000) and ended at about 06:30 EST -0500 (11:30 UTC -0000).

A dip started at about 13:05 EST -0500 (18:05 UTC -0000), it turned into a drop at about 13:20 EST -0500 (18:20 UTC -0000), recovery started at about 13:40 EST -0500 (18:40 UTC -0000), and recovery completed at about 14:10 EST -0500 (19:10 UTC -0000).

The Parser is still "SpamCop v 1.514".

Edited by Jeff G.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Per SpamCop Admin December 29, 2005

I'm sorry to report that SpamCop is down. I can't get in, either. The duty engineer has been paged, but that's all I have for you. I don't know what's wrong or how long it will take to fix.

As always, when you experience a failure with SpamCop, the immediate action drill is to shut down your browser and go lie on the couch. :-)

- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Per SpamCop Admin December 29, 2005

I'm sorry to report that SpamCop is down. I can't get in, either. The duty engineer has been paged, but that's all I have for you. I don't know what's wrong or how long it will take to fix.

As always, when you experience a failure with SpamCop, the immediate action drill is to shut down your browser and go lie on the couch. :-)

- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -

38612[/snapback]

...Thanks, Don. It does seem to have been fixed (based on the graphic at the top of the screen, "Reporting Server Status," it appears that it returned to service at about 6:30 AM EST).

--------------------

..Regards,

...Steve T

...A Happy SpamCop.net user and Forum Moderator (not an admin)

...Please avoid replying via e-mail, as it is not secure

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Slow for days, getting slower.  Last took 7 hours (received 4 hours ago).  Pasting in (seems to be performing normally) and cancelling the emailed submissions when they finally break through.

38826[/snapback]

Several people have reported a slowness with email submissions in the new year. There doesn't seem to be any common denominator.

Miss Betsy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maintenance Window - 15 Jan 2006 took a bit longer than planned. System return looked great for a while. Then another one of those dips showed up at about 1700 GMT -5 . lasted for about 20 minutes ....

SpamCop v 1.516 Copyright © 1998-2005 showing as version number ....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?...stom&page=stats

appears to show that the performance of the SpamCop Parsing and

Reporting Service went to hell in a handbasket around 21:40 EST -0500

(02:40 UTC -0000), an hour ago. Its administrators are probably

already aware of the issue. Last version I saw was "SpamCop v 1.520".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Its administrators are probably already aware of the issue.

40866[/snapback]

In theory, alarms have gone off, IronPort techs shoud have been on the issue quite a while ago. On the downside, once again, as the www.spamcop.net site is down, so is any interaction via e-mail to/from the "staff" .... yet, nothing from them in the newsgroups, nothing here ...????? And still no known IronPort representation in on any of the current venues.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?...stom&page=stats

appears to show that the performance of the SpamCop Parsing and

Reporting Service went to hell in a handbasket around 21:40 EST -0500

(02:40 UTC -0000), an hour ago.  Its administrators are probably

already aware of the issue.  Last version I saw was "SpamCop v 1.520".

40866[/snapback]

It's been over two hours now. This appears to be a bigger problem than normal. :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After 2 hours 55 minutes, recovery appears to have started around 00:35 EST -0500 (05:35 UTC -0000). It will probably take a while.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Recovery appears to have completed around 01:35 EST -0500 (06:35 UTC -0000).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×