Help! Being threatened with lawsuit!

mfischer2

I've been using spamcop for a few months now, and today I received a threatening email from a website that claims I registered for their "ezine".

Here is the email:

----------------------------------

Hello SpamCop user,

Matthew,

You reported an email we sent you last Wednesday to

spam Cop.

As you visited one of our sites and completed an "Information

Request" form, we are mystified as to why you decided to file a

spam complain when we sent you the information YOU REQUESTED!

As we have your complete contact details on file, including you IP

address, we STRONGLY suggest that you notify spam Cop of your error

as ANY disruption to our online service due to your action WILL

result in legal action.

You may view our spam policy (and how we deal with false

complaints) here: http://www.ellagicmlm.com/spam.htm

Regards,

Stan Haley.

Please ask Stan for the "log attached showing, among other things, the subscription time and IP address that was used [to] subscribe", along with the URL where you allegedly subscribed. Please also share the Tracking URL for your Report. Thanks!

Please ask Stan for the "log attached showing, among other things, the subscription time and IP address that was used [to] subscribe", along with the URL where you allegedly subscribed.  Please also share the Tracking URL for your Report.  Thanks!

36864[/snapback]

Jeff: Here is the tracking URL for my spam report:

http://www.spamcop.net/mcgi?action=showhis...;val=1563904920

I have requested the logs from Stan.

Jeff: Here is the tracking URL for my spam report:

http://www.spamcop.net/mcgi?action=showhis...;val=1563904920

I have requested the logs from Stan.

36865[/snapback]

Thanks, but that is not a Tracking URL, all it gets me is "Authorization failure, no username provided by server; action = showhistory" or
Report History:

Submitted: Wednesday, November 23, 2005 18:12:15 -0500:

Welcome Matthew, Here are the details you wanted.