[Resolved] unknown entries in my address book

Elvis

Hi,

I recently found a bunch of new entries in my address book. There are names associated with a spamcop.net email address which isn't mine, plus a list for people named "Europe Tour". I haven't received (or at least I haven't noticed) any emails reach my Inbox which are clearly personal (non-spam) messages intended for someone else. But I am concerned that if I have access to this other user's address book, do they have access to mine? What happened?

I searched for other posts on this, but couldn't find anything. Also, I'm very new to posts & forums so please be kind if you have suggestions on how to post.

Thanks for any help!

I recently found a bunch of new entries in my address book.

I'm guessing that you're talking about the "Address Book" that's available when you log into your SpamCop email account on the web (aka "webmail" or "Horde"). If that's the case, I just checked both of my accounts and there wasn't anything odd about the address books, nor have I heard of this happening to others. I suppose that either:

a) someone else accessed your account and added those entries, or

B) your account's address book has somehow gotten "cross-wired" with another account

If "b," then you should contact SpamCop Email Support using this form:

http://mail.spamcop.net/contact.php

DT

Yes, exactly, I use the webmail.spamcop.net (should've mentioned that, eh?)

I sent a message on Monday through the contact link you list, but haven't heard back yet. I thought maybe I'm just supposed to be using this forum instead. But maybe they're busy -- I don't imagine this problem ranks as a crisis :-)

I'll try again & give them an alternate email to reply to me.

Thanks for your help David!

Also, I'm very new to posts & forums so please be kind if you have suggestions on how to post.