Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

bkoopers's Achievements


Newbie (1/6)



  1. I don't want to change my mail service provider who is also my web hosting provider who I have been using for 9 years and who gives me unlimited website storage for a low fixed price. My two friends from Italy agreed to use a different outgoing mail service provider so unless I find out about other people being bounced from my email account, my problem is resolved for now. My email service provider uses SpamAssassin for incoming email filtering but I have complete control over it. I can set the filter strength from 1 to 100 (the lower the number the stronger it is but increases the likelihood of flagging non-spam) but I have the option of just adding the word "spam" to the subject and passing it through or deleting it. I have it set to "100" and pass it through. I can also exempt specific sender addresses from being marked as "spam" (but I have no need to since I pass everything through). Unless my mail service provider is using spamcop (without admitting it) in addition to SpamAssassin (is that likely?) then they may be telling the truth that they are not using spamcop.
  2. Am I correct that the consensus is that emails from these 2 email accounts are not reaching me because of these two coinciding issues? 1) a number of email accounts (not necessarily my friends specific accounts) that use fastwebnet.it to send out mail have been reported as spam in the spamcop database and 2) my incoming mail server provider is blocking incoming emails from servers listed in the spamcop database (even though my provider claims not to be using spamcop to block incoming messages) I guess my friends will have to use a different outgoing email service if they want to contact me (they are not going to get fastwebnet.it to stop spam and my provider is not going to stop blocking with spamcop if they deny using it).
  3. One other point of information: I discussed this situation with my incoming mail server provider and they say that they do not block any incoming mails using spamcop.
  4. Thanks for the reply but you misunderstood my problem. I do not have the problem sending emails to them. They have the problem sending email to me. Their outgoing mail server provider (fastwebnet.it) appears to be passing outgoing mail through spamcop and then if spamcop rejects the recipient, the email is not sent to the recipient and the sender gets the bounce message referencing spamcop. If I lookup the IP address of my irbl.net domain in the spamcop blocked list, it reports that it is not blocked. I then looked further at the bounce response my friend forwarded to me and I see this line indicating who is sending my friend the bounce message: From: Mail Delivery Service <postmaster[at]aa011msr.fastwebnet.it> If I ping aa011msr.fastwebnet.it, I get If I lookup that IP address here: http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml it reports: listed in bl.spamcop.net ( Does that mean that my friends mail server provider is using spamcop to block sending emails to spamcop listed domains but their outgoing mail server itself is listed as blocked by spamcop? If fastwebnet.it is the bad domain then why is it reporting that my domain is the bad one? This is all confusing to me. I would greatly appreciate some further insight into what is taking place here and who to contact to get this fixed. Thanks.
  5. A few weeks ago, I created a new email address using a domain that I have owned for 9 years (irbl.net) . I having been notifying hundreds of contacts and mailing lists of my new email address and have been receiving emails sent to the new address except from two friends who are both located in Italy (I am located in the USA). Both friends are using fastwebnet.it as an outgoing mail server service. When they send me an email to my new email address, they get a bounce response saying the following (substituting “xxxxxx†for the front part of my actual email address): These recipients of your message have been processed by the mail server: xxxxxx[at]irbl.net; Failed; 5.1.1 (bad destination mailbox address) Remote MTA www.irbl.net: SMTP diagnostic: 550 5.7.1 <xxxxxx[at]irbl.net>... Rejected - see http://spamcop.net/ Both friends had to forward me the bounce message using a different outgoing mail service. Apparently, fastwebnet.it is using spamcop to prevent emails to be sent to certain email accounts. Why is spamcop blocking emails from being sent to my new email address? Is there something that my email service provider needs to change in the server settings that is non-standard that needs to be changed? Thanks to anybody who can help me resolve this problem.
  • Create New...