Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Keithj

  • Birthday 10/10/1943

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
  • ICQ

Profile Information

  • Location
    Witnesham, Suffolk, England

Keithj's Achievements


Member (2/6)



  1. Spamcop will accept mail to my Spamcop account from some addresses, but not others. I can't work out the logic of it. I just deleted from the mailhost config one account that it wouldn't accept. and it deleted two others and changed the server name of a third to CESmail.net (which I thought had ceased to exist.) Someone's in there changing stuff, but my mail and held mail are disappearing without trace, which is not good.
  2. Mine isn't forwarding - I sent it a couple of tests earllier - they seem to have disappeared into the ether. I've had nothing through from the Spamcop account for about a week. Nor can I check the "Held Mail" because that bit's disappeared from the screen. Unacceptable! To think I paid them $30 a few weeks ago! I've been with Spamcop for more years than I can remember. What a sad indictment of Cisco that they can't even run a show like Spamcop these days. I remember when they were the top brand of kit that serious users aspired to. Sigh.
  3. I'm a simple soul. I use (used?) Spamcop as a regular e-mail address, and logged in daily to check "Held Mail" of which there was usually a lot. Most was spam, and reported and dumped with no further ado. Some was "false positive" and needed to be released. I can no longer connect to "Held Mail". What do I do about stuff in there, good or bad? Is there any way to tell Spamcop 2014 NOT to screen mail? I don't relish the idea of trying to e-mail all my contacts to say "Don't use my Spamcop address". I did try a message to Spamcop a couple of weeks ago, but got no reply.
  4. I get far less spam now than I did a year ago, but just about every spam that Spamcop fails to trap then turns out to be one that Spamcop cannot process - I get the famous "No source IP address found, cannot proceed." Yet it went through Spamcop and was "passed" as OK - so the spam checking routine doesn't look to see if the message has a source IP address? Am I doing something wrong in the way I report spam? Here's this morning's latest one. I'm sure it didn't come from - but why did the spam filter accept it and forward it to me? From - Tue May 01 09:18:57 2012 X-Account-Key: account16 X-UIDL: UID91-1332369975 X-Mozilla-Status: 0001 X-Mozilla-Status2: 10000000 X-Mozilla-Keys: Return-Path: <apache[at]server88-208-192-91.live-servers.net> Delivered-To: spamcop-net-keithj[at]spamcop.net Received: (qmail 18590 invoked from network); 1 May 2012 08:19:45 -0000 X-spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.2.4 (2008-01-01) on filter7 X-spam-Level: ** X-spam-Status: hits=2.2 tests=FH_HELO_EQ_D_D_D_D,HTML_MESSAGE, MIME_BASE64_BLANKS,MIME_HTML_ONLY version=3.2.4 Received: from unknown ( by filter7.cesmail.net with QMQP; 1 May 2012 08:19:45 -0000 Received: from dynamic-esports.org (HELO server88-208-192-91.live-servers.net) ( by mxin2.cesmail.net with SMTP; 1 May 2012 08:20:37 -0000 Received: from server88-208-192-91.live-servers.net (unknown []) by server88-208-192-91.live-servers.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 11983B7CAF for <keithj[at]spamcop.net>; Tue, 1 May 2012 07:31:44 +0000 (UTC) Received: by server88-208-192-91.live-servers.net (Postfix, from userid 48) id 0F42AB6BAE; Tue, 1 May 2012 07:28:45 +0000 (UTC) To: keithj[at]spamcop.net Subject: EFT Payment Recieved From: ABSA <Ibsupport[at]absa.co.za>
  5. Well, the blanks have stopped. But so has everything else. Spamcop is dead: I can't get into webmail to read my mail and it's not forwarding it to me either. I prefer the blanks. At least I was getting the important mail.
  6. It's unacceptable. Spamcop has "collected" all my mail last night and today (it's now 8:45pm here) but is unable to let me read it. If the DNS has gone wrong, why am I seeing an SQL error? That doesn't make sense. I can see the "spam" it's hived off today (which I don't want to see) but not the day's e-mails (which I do).
  7. Well, clearing out the Folders didn't do it. A few hours later, this is what appears in the "Held" mail folder: http://jillings.org/spamcopb2.jpg I can delete them quite happily, but I'm curious about what they are - there's no body, no subject, no headers, no nothing.
  8. Thanks, Don. There was some odd stuff in the "Trash" folder, which I've now deleted. I'll see what happens next. Keith
  9. In the past, I've had the odd blank item in the long daily list of spam held by Spamcop. Abruptly, on 27th February 2012, I started getting large numbers of "blanks". These are cases where there is a reference number, but absolutely nothing in the body. Clicking on one brings up the message "error:Cannot find 173112" (or whatever the number may be). Google tells me that's because a spammer is probing to see if my address is live - but in that case he's doing a lot of probing because I'm getting 50 to 100 a day of these. This is a fairly typical evening's crop of spam: http://jillings.org/spamcopblanks.jpg What exactly is happening? Where are these items coming from? Should I do anything? [edit] - image converted to URL, it's done its job - and we don't do external images on the forum.
  10. Thanks, folks. This thread gave me some ideas to "tune" my Spamcop filters, and I think it's solved several of my "spam not caught" problems. I'm fortunate that I have no desire to receive mail about or from (for example) Viagra, Pfizer, or casinos, even if it is from people I know. Next step is filters that look for \ / instead of V, and other such deliberate misspellings.
  11. Sorry for a very tardy response to the information above. It's two identical mail filtering and reporting accounts - one is name[at]spamcop.net, the other name[at]cqmail.net. They both do exactly the same thing, one for personal stuff, the other for "work" stuff. The two are not allowed to meet, for reasons you can guess. Dangerman sent me a PM, and his fix works perfectly. I can toggle between the two, or have both open at once in different Firefox tabs if I choose. It works, still, with Firefox 3.0 Beta 2 Thanks, Dangerman, and sorry not to have said so sooner.
  12. Do I have this problem? I'm not sure if it's the same problem, or if I'm doing something wrong, but... Among the hundreds of spams a day in my Heldbox, there is the very occasional genuine mail item. I've always ticked the item, ticked "forward and whitelist sender", then "Release/Delete selected messages". That's worked fine until recently. Twice that I know of in the last two weeks, I've done that and the mail item has never appeared in my "filtered Spamcop mail" inbox, and the e-mail address isn't added to my whitelist. First time, it was the new e-mail address of an old friend and I could easily sort it. This evening, it was a new customer. I read the first line, and did the "forward and whitelist" thing. I didn't connect with the problem with the first one - and now the message has gone, and with it the e-mail address. I've been right through my whitelist, and there are no addresses there that I don't recognise. Now I'm concerned! How many others have I cleared, and forgotten, and lost? Is this a Spamcop problem, or am I doing something wrong? All "filtered" mail from established whitelisted addresses, or from "clean" addresses is arriving OK. It's only new ones. Is there a limit on the size of the whitelist? Would Spamcop tell me if I reached it? What might I be doing wrong?
  13. Yes, it seems to be OK. Reporting is working fine. Case closed, I think. I do have a new, different problem which I'm sure is unrelated so I'll post that separately.
  14. I'm on several mailing lists, which receive the occasional spam. I don't want to "Spamcop" the lists themselves, so I've tried to register them - but without success. I've read the "pinned instruction" but couldn't see it in there. Should I just not report spam that comes through the mailing lists?
  15. I can't find this in the "pinned" stuff, so please bear with me. I've just gone through and "configured" each of my accounts. For every "account configuration e-mail" that I've returned, I seem to have received one message to my "spamcop" address telling me Those messages didn't give any detail of which account it was, but by leaving a pause between registrations, it seems to be every one. And then, almost immediately, another message arrives to the specific address telling me It seems that the error messages were a bit premature, and all is actually well. The accounts appear in my Spamcop "Mailhosts" list. Have I been doing something wrong, or is this a "feature", and should I worry about it?
  • Create New...