Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by SeanC

  1. Wow, I just found out about the SMTP AUTH server. That is great!
  2. I was just reporting spam that I received via gmail. It didn't get through its filters, but I noticed that when reporting this SpamCop did not want to report it because the ISP already said that the spam will stop. http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1184326863zd...f1621aa6929aa7z 0: Received: from localhost.localdomain ( .adslgp.cegetel.net []) by mx.google.com with SMTP id blahblahblahblahblahblahblahblahblahblah; Thu, 04 Jan 2007 02:58:53 -0800 (PST) Hostname verified: .adslgp.cegetel.net gmail received mail from sending system ISP has indicated spam will cease; ISP resolved this issue sometime after Thursday, January 04, 2007 4:31:24 AM -0500 If my calculations are correct the spam was sent at 05:58:53 -0500 (EST) and the ISP said that this was resolved at 4:31:24 -0500 (EST). I would think that being sent almost an hour and a half after the ISP said it will cease would be reason enough to report it. SeanC
  3. I had already registered both my Earthlink account and my Gmail account. However, that was before the change. I looked into the mailhost configuration that the IP shown for the pop server was not in the config and so I deleted my Gmail config and have readded it and waited for spamcop to pop the confirmations so that SC would capture that bit of data (i.e. the gmail's pop server). As a side note the cesmail server being identiifed in mailhosts as Hotmail was apparent from nearly day one. I guess the first person who registered their mailhosts did so with a hotmail account coming to SC.
  4. Hi, I have started sending my ISP (MindSpring/Earthlink) to Gmail instead of straight to SpamCop and now SpamCop doesn't want to report it. I have it so SpamCop pops my mail from Gmail and some of the spam gets through gmail's filters. So just today I tried to report two pieces of spam using quick report and they were came up with the following error: Processing spam: From: govanw[at]fl.asn.au Subject: Re: Hi, great news Pvharrmacy 0: Received: from unknown (HELO c60.cesmail.net) ( by blade1.cesmail.net with SMTP; 13 Sep 2005 13:07:46 -0000 Internal handoff at SpamCop 1: Received: from mailgate.cesmail.net ([]) by c60.cesmail.net with ESMTP; 13 Sep 2005 09:07:46 -0400 Hostname verified: mailgate.cesmail.net SpamCop received mail from Hotmail ( ) 2: Received: from gmail-pop.l.google.com [] by mailgate.cesmail.net with POP3 (fetchmail-6.2.1) for scc4fun[at]spamcop.net (single-drop); Tue, 13 Sep 2005 09:07:45 -0400 (EDT) No unique hostname found for source: Hotmail received mail from sending system 3: Received: from degraw.mail.atl.earthlink.net (degraw.mail.atl.earthlink.net []) by mx.gmail.com with ESMTP id 11si614019wrl.2005.; Tue, 13 Sep 2005 06:02:49 -0700 (PDT) Hostname verified: degraw.mail.atl.earthlink.net warning:Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts Will not trust anything beyond this header error:You have failed to configure your own mail host, from which you pop mail Mailhost: ( ) Please correct this situation - register every email address where you receive spam error:No IP found The odd thing is that I look in my mailhost configuration for mindspring and it lists degraw.mail.atl.earthlink.net by name. I would assume that the problem is with the gmail-pop server then. Is there any fix to this? Sean C.
  5. Well, still no idea where it was uploaded to by SC, but i downloaded the keypair and imported it into GPG. Not sure if that will matter much really as I don't know anybody that uses either GPG or PGP. In any case I've uploaded the key to a couple keyservers.
  6. I'm not that familiar with PGP. I installed PGP 8.1 freeware for Windows. (yes, i'm still a slave to windows.) I had created a keyring and key using that, but it doesn't work with thunderbird which i recently started using. So I imported my keyring into the SC webmail and wanted to just upload my key(s) also, but it didn't work out right. So I created a keypair using SC and even used the 'Send Key to Public Keyserver' option for the public key. I'm just wondering which one it uses. PGP uses ldap://keyserver.pgp.com and ldap://europe.keys.pgp.com:11370. In the meantime I discovered that there is a program for Thunderbird that can do the same thing Enigmail with GnuPG. Right now I'm working on getting that to work. It uses the servers at: random.sks.keyserver.penguin.de, pgp.dtype.org, ldap://certserver.pgp.com, keyserver.kjsl.com. PGP Public Keyring Help Sean C (<me>[at]spamcop.net) [View] [Details] [Delete]Help Your PGP Public/Private Keys Help Your Public Key: [View] [Details] [send Key to Public Keyserver] Your Private Key: [Enter Passphrase] [View] [Details]
  7. Hi, I'm curious as to what keyserver the SC webmail function for PGP syncs to. It's not in the "help" and searching for keyserver in the forums yielded no search results. Also, a list or link of common keyservers would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for any help.
  8. FAQ? Which FAQ? Thanks Wazoo that's exactly what I was looking for. Now I just need to figure out why hotmail adds that header to messages it receives (from me to me at least).
  9. I looked on that website and the wiki, but could not find anything about the header in question X-Message-Info: Does anyone know why this header is created/what it's for?
  10. I sent an email to myself using Mozilla Thunderbird 1.0 on my WinXP machine using my ISP's ASMTP server. I sent it as from <me>[at]spamcop.net to <user>[at]hotmail.com which spamcop in turn POPs. After a while of waiting for it to appear in my inbox I check my Held Mail folder and sure enough it was there. I looked at the headers and say that SpamAssassin gave it a score of 4.2. See the snipped headers below: X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jFQHoK+bAYW1lNCWmnAiyLF X-spam-Level: **** X-spam-Status: hits=4.2 tests=X_MESSAGE_INFO version=3.0.0 X-SpamCop-Disposition: Blocked SpamAssassin=4 I'm able to get around on a computer pretty well, but I have no idea why that header was created or why SmapASsassin believes it's spam. ps. is there a way to get a listing of email header/body type values that SpamAssassin uses? I saw a partial list in another post. Thanks, Sean
  11. Miss Betsy, I think you are confusing "profanity" with "blasphemy" which is taking God's name in vain.
  12. Just browsing my mailhost page after configuring it (perhaps incorrectly). I've noticed a few interesting things: First off, the SpamCop entry appears as such: That may be from trying to configure my hotmail acct twice, but still... Second, I also tried to configure my yahoo acct twice and have a blank entry for Yahoo! with nothing but the mailhost name and email address. BTW the valid entry for my yahoo acct is listed as Yahoo (w/o the !). Thanks for the help, Sean spamcop.net user
  13. First off I use the paid email service and love it. I am using the mailhosts beta and have a couple of things to say about that, but in the correct topic. I agree with nogin. In fact I would like to make it so that I can send unmunged reports to EarthLink rather than send a copy to spamcop. Is there anything that can be done about it?
  • Create New...