Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

kenwood's Achievements


Newbie (1/6)



  1. Thanks to both of you for replying and your suggestions and explanations. After a further check of the logs based on what you said it appears that the spam does originate from worldstream.nl dynamic DHCP type addresses and not from any of their mail servers. It just seemed strange that even though I use several of the more well know DNSBLs in my sendmail.cf including dyna.spamrats.com that there would be so many from worldstream that were not blocked but you mention a lot of valid reasons why that could be that I had not considered. For now blocking all .nl IP addresses is not that big a deal since the only mail I have ever seen pass through our server from .nl has been spam. Thanks again
  2. Why don’t I see many of the IP addresses assigned to worldstream.nl being rejected by the major DNSBLs I use? Even after waiting several hours before checking one of their addresses they still come up clean most times at dnsbl.info. Occasionally I do see the odd single IP address blocked at one of DNSBLs but considering the number of spams my mail server has received relayed through them, it is if they are somehow escaping detection. This is not something new. It has been going on for several months. I finally put a stop to all of them using by using nl.countries.nerd.dk but that is like taking an ax to slice a tomato. It works but isn’t very pretty.
  3. You are right. Between being upset about this and not using the right search terms, I missed a lot of past postings. My apologies Yes, I did. I had been using 4 different DNSBLs in my sendmail.cf and SpamCop was the third in the chain. Since 99% of my spam is filtered by the first two, mostly the first one, and SpamCop was the only one blocking Yahoo Group mail after passing through the first two, it was a pretty easy decision. I don't think I would happy if I was told those are the breaks and go read your Yahoo group mail by logging in and using the web interface. Thanks for taking the time to reply.
  4. I had to stop using SpamCop and alter my sendmail.cf file because of the following partial entry in my maillog file. ruleset=check_relay, arg1=n44a.bullet.mail.sp1.yahoo.com, arg2=, relay=n44a.bullet.mail.sp1.yahoo.com [], reject=550 5.7.1 Rejected: listed at bl.spamcop.net A lot of list mail from various Yahoo Groups comes from this IP address. If it is blocked, a lot of legitimate list mail will not be delivered to list/group members. It is like throwing the baby out with the bath water. Has anybody else run into this?
  • Create New...