Return score instead of yes/no on blocklist request?

hallikainen

I've been using SpamCop with sendmail for many years. As I understand it, SpamCop returns an accept/reject response based on the ratio of spam reports to queries (like the one my spamcop is sending). A lot of reports in proportion to the number of queries indicates a spammer, while a small number indicates someone is not a spammer.

What I'd like to see is for SpamCop to return the actual ratio or a score that we can use to evaluate whether to accept the connection from this IP address or not. Looking at my logs, I see a lot of spam being rejected based on the SC block list, but a lot is still getting through. I'm thinking that maybe I can make the rejection threshold a little lower so more stuff gets rejected. Right now, I have no access to that threshold. But, if a score were returned instead, each mail user could set their reject ratio.

Does this sound reasonable? Is it already running, maybe?

Thanks!

Harold

Does this sound reasonable?

That could be useful but that is not the way the block list was designed.

To implement what you suggest one decision that would need to me made is how large a BL' would be sent. With the current setup every IP on the list is blocked. With your suggestion a compromise is needed between including all IPs with a rating above zero and some reasonable smaller size list that allows for practical use.

Another option would be a customized BL for each user.

I don't see a reasonable application. Have you tried adding other filtering criteria in addition to the SCBL?