Does Spamcop have different lists like Spamhaus does ?

JohnLM525

I have been searching for about an hour, and cannot find anything on this forum with regards to different levels of spam-Blocking.

I can accept most blocking of sites, except for Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail, MSN, Comcast, AOL and other major ISP's as most of my users would get block based upon another users actions.

Is there another list that excludes major ISP's where they have potentially thousands of users ?

I need to block spammers except for major carriers as these would hinder businesses and trade.

Any ideas ?

Yes I am new to this spamcop forum, but have been using an old IMS mail system since about 1998. I tried using Spamcop on several occasions but it does too good a job !

John M

Chicago, IL

Hi John M,

No the SCBL is a single list - DNS lookup using bl.spamcop.net per http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml and included links. If you wanted to bypass the list in the case of major ISP mailservers and the like you would need to first whitelist those somehow - which could be difficult to set up (to get detail of all the specific IP addresses) and to maintain (because ISPs make changes from time to time).

Unlike some BLs, the SCBL does not "escalate" to list innocent IP addresses within whole ranges, only those individual IP addresses actually sending or promiscuously relaying actual spam get listed. It would be the exceptional case for an otherwise reputable mailserver passing on spam in great volume (or to super-secret spam traps) that might get one of them briefly listed. Yes, there have been complaints from Hotmail and Yahoo users of that happening. Those listings were with good cause but they have happened, I understand. Usually there would be only one or a few servers out of the several/many operated by any major service provider which might be affected at any one time - if it happened.