Jump to content

Mailhost configuration problem, identified internal IP as source


Recommended Posts


I want to report some spam but Spamcop wont accept it because the Mailhost configuration problem, identified internal IP as source.

I receive this mail on my gmail account & it seems the spammer also uses a gmail account. I have configured Gmail as my Mailhost in my spamcop account. The mail seems indeed being send from internal IP range (10.x.x.x), This is not the internal IP range of my home network (168.x.x.x).

I think this might be the internal IP from Google Gmail servers but i'm not sure of this.

Have a look at it:

Delivered-To: Me[at]gmail.com
Received: by with SMTP id rl2csp386309obc;
Wed, 12 Nov 2014 05:55:21 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <them[at]gmail.com>
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of them[at]gmail.com designates as permitted sender) client-ip=
Authentication-Results: mr.google.com;
spf=pass (google.com: domain of them[at]gmail.com designates as permitted sender) smtp.mail=them[at]gmail.com;
dkim=pass header.i=[at]gmail.com
X-Received: from mr.google.com ([])
by with SMTP id w15mr2664864igp.39.1415800520858 (num_hops = 1);
Wed, 12 Nov 2014 05:55:20 -0800 (PST)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;
d=gmail.com; s=20120113;
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Received: by with SMTP id w15mr4159178igp.39.1415800520533; Wed,
12 Nov 2014 05:55:20 -0800 (PST)
Received: by with HTTP; Wed, 12 Nov 2014 05:55:20 -0800 (PST)
Date: Wed, 12 Nov 2014 14:55:20 +0100
Message-ID: <CAOw3h+4DDS_Gox9__=MPomZC2fN4Lok3enTKKVJ-Tg7-k5d_mQ[at]mail.gmail.com>
Subject: Subject
From: Them <them[at]gmail.com>
To: Them <them[at]gmail.com>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=089e0158caa4197c420507a9bfc8
Bcc: me[at]gmail.com

Message ....... containing url .......

You can see 2 differen ip adresses iin the 10.x.x.x range in the mail. So can this mail be reported as spam ?
Are these Google's internal IP adresses ?
Is this a way to hide the origin of the spam mail ?
Is there another question about this i haven't ask but seems important & you can provide the answer to it, please do.
Thanks for reading my question & providing answers and solutions.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi, Albert,

&nbsp &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp Yes, those are Google internal IP addresses and no, you can not report this via SpamCop. Please see SC Forum Topic "Gmail, forwarded" for more information.

&nbsp &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp For future reference: please don't post such a long list of spam headers here. The Tracking URL gives us complete information in a very terse way.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...