How do I identify a spam trap from a spam trap header .txt

felixsanch

Hi all.

First post ever, so bear with me please.
I'll try to make this to the point.

Yesterday my company hit a spam trap, and I've been able to get a .txt-file for the "spam trap header".
But when looking in the spam trap header I really can't see anything that I can use for identifying what caused hitting the spam trap.

I did some seaches for parts of the text in the .txt-file matching it with our entire newslettersubscriber database, but searches like these:

mxweb102

0MRFSd
0MDAqe
0LvCtq
h9bhv4163hsg
Ogbm8j4XQn5Q

didn't return any matches at all.

---
So, as I'm very new to this, I'd like to ask:
When hitting a spam trap, and then being able to get a .txt-file for the "spam trap header".. how can I use this info to identify and later avoid hitting that spam trap again?

Thanks

What does that mean?

Hi Dave.

As understand it, somehow we've unintendedly included a bad emailadress (not someone interested in our product and services) in our group of newsletter recievers, sent a newsletter to that emailaddress and thereby "hitting that spam trap".

spam traps are by design hidden. If anyone could identify the mailbox/domain of a spam trap they would serve no purpose sense any spammer could avoid the trap.

If you are using a double-opt-in, confirmed-opt-in, emailing list as Dave suggested, you could not have sent your newsletter to a trap. By chance you may have sent a confirmation email to a trap, but the odds are low.

How do you know you sent email to a spam trap? SpamCop does not send any notices for spam trap hits.

What is the IP address used by your newsletter mail server? With that we could look at the history and help you understand what has happened. OR you can go to https://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=map and look up your IP address. If you don't want to post your IP address publicly, you can send me a PM (the envelop icon in the top right corner of this page.)