Which is Correct POP Mail Server?

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to having a SpamCop e-mail account, although I've been reporting spam on SpamCop for years. I am an attorney who practices in the intellectual property area (no kidding), so I always include choice quotes from the CAN-spam Act of 2003 in the "notes" section of my SpamCop reports. I have some pre-printed "warnings" saved as a Word file that I cut and paste into reports, so if anyone would like to receive them, please just let me know.

Anyway, as I was setting up my e-mail account, I noticed that SpamCop set-up instructions name two different POP servers: one is "mail.spamcop.net" and the other is "pop.spamcop.net." Which is the correct POP server? I am especially interested in this topic because I have not received a single piece of e-mail since my ISP started forwarding my mail to SpamCop over 24 hours ago.

Thanks for your help.

Anyway, as I was setting up my e-mail account, I noticed that SpamCop set-up instructions name two different POP servers: one is "mail.spamcop.net" and the other is "pop.spamcop.net."  Which is the correct POP server?  I am especially interested in this topic because I have not received a single piece of e-mail since my ISP started forwarding my mail to SpamCop over 24 hours ago.

Thanks for your help.

At the present time, they're actually the same. We'd prefer you use pop.spamcop.net, though, in case that changes in the future.

Can you login to webmail and see any email there? If not, either you have set up a mail loop (i.e. forwarding back to the same address that forwards to us) or your ISP really isn't forwarding.

JT

pop.spamcop.net is the correct, updated server to use for POP.

imap.spamcop.net is the correct, updated server to use for IMAP.

mail.spamcop.net used to be the recommended server name and may still be listed in some of the documentation.