Jump to content

Help with ISP and BL


Recommended Posts

My ISP's server has been put on the BL twice now in the past week. Haven't had trouble with them in the past and curious if anyone can help me figure out why it's been blocked recently. It's not a huge deal to transfer (they only host the domain name and provide email server) but thought I'd try to track this down first. Their IP is Showed up clean earlier today but now is blocked again.

Any info is appreciated.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

...Well, the SpamCop checkblock listing for this IP address shows:

Query bl.spamcop.net - listed in bl.spamcop.net (

Causes of listing

SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam about 10 times in the past week


Listing History

In the past 68.0 days, it has been listed 3 times for a total of 3.6 days

Other hosts in this "neighborhood" with spam reports

...The SpamCop TraceIP page for this IP address shows:
Parsing input:

host = ims-2.ampira.com (cached)

Reporting addresses:



...You should contact the good folks at ampira.com to ask them your question, I believe.
Link to comment
Share on other sites 

Volume Statistics for this IP 

Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average

Last day 4.1 273%

Last 30 days 4.1 340%

Other than the volume of output going up recently I couldn't come up with additional information. That's an indication you may have hijacked machines spewing from that IP. However the domain responsible:

Other information about this IP address 

Sender Category 

Network Owner FortuneCity.com, INC. 

Domain ampira.com 

Date of first message seen from this address 2004-05-28

CIDR range

did come up in recent threads. Searching most recent topics in the help forum may give you additional information.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I took a look at the "history" of reported spam from the IP you gave us, and here are some of the Subject lines:

eBay Security Request

Here is your ID: 17543

Warning: Infected: Spyware Loaded

FW: The most valuable online pha.rmeci site! Cljck now! tidewater

info from you bank

account update

zoogirl love to suck her pony

Amazon Security Request

Let's see, that list included phishing, pharmaceutical spam, porn spam.....you should run away from that provider as fast as you can!

Have you looked up the IP in the "OpenRBL"? In addtion to being listed in the SC BL, the IP is listed by BLARS and FIVETEN. Here are some selected details:

spam support - hosting Scott Richter on; added 2003-11-11;

spam support - listwashing in response to spam complaints; added 2004-04-02;

Not good stuff there....


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks - Tried researching more - but this is the first time I've ever encountered this sort of thing.  I'll have to go looking for a new host I guess.  Other than SpamCop.net are there any suggestions for hosts who are good about spam?]

If you care to drop me a line via the Email link below I'll be happy to discuss what we can offer.


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...