Jump to content

Re: blocked... - All spam traps.


Recommended Posts

Date: Sat, 7 Feb 2004 13:46:43 -0700

From: "Abuse" <abuse[at]internetwebhosting.com>

Subject: [sC-Help] Re: blocked... - All spam traps.

To: spamcop-help[at]news.spamcop.net

Message-ID: <c03irm$i6e$1[at]news.spamcop.net>

"John Malmberg" <a[at]all.addresses.on.cdrom.are.invalid.aaa> wrote in message


> [title corrected]

> Abuse wrote:

> > I am trying to figure out which user caused this:

> >

> > http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=


> <snip report unfortunately missing any evidence>

> Move to first backup:


> http://www.moensted.dk/spam/?addr=


> Level 2 SPEWS listing, but that is not why you are here.

Ouch, this is new. I have written "pajo" and demanded they remove the (1)

remaing level 1 domain on their netblock. I will cheefully apply pressure.

> Mail-abuse.org lookup shows no record of that I.P.


> Google does not show anything either for that I.P. in

> news.admin.net-abuse.sightings.


> Google does not show anything either for either of your obvious domain

> names in news.admin.net-abuse.sightings.


> > However, when I log into my reports area, I dont see ANY complaints at all.

> > Once I find out who caused this, they are toast.

> > I need to see the header of the mail that shows the UID/GID or originating

> > domain, I am using EXIM which stamps all that in the headers for me.


> You are making an assumption that the reported e-mail came through your

> mail server program. That is not always the case.


> > Any help would be appreciated.


> Some of this you will likely already know:


> http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=140&st=5


> Unless someone does a test on your server that reveals the problem or

> produces a sample spam, your only hope to get a clue on what caused the

> listing is to contact the deputies. That would be deputies(at)spamcop.net.


> What has shown up in the past is that when a server hitting spam traps,

> and not showing up anywhere else, it is a strong indication that the

> server may be generating auto-responses to viruses and spam instead of

> using SMTP rejects.


> Human reporters to spamcop.net are not allowed to report viruses and

> things that auto-respond to them, even though many wish they could.


> spam-traps may be under different rules.


> -John

> [snip e-mail address]

> Personal Opinion Only

Ugg.. I did not know that. I recently installed Clam Anti Virus /

MailSacnner. It appears when it detected a virus it would send the sender a

notice stating they have sent a virus. I am guessing this is where the spam

complaints came from, given that most of the email addresses for the reply

were probably fake.

thanks for your help John. I have disabled the notices. :-)

Jeremy Martinez


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...