[Resolved] Spam reports "bounced by administrator"

taryneast

I fired up my email client this morning, and started sending my spam into spamcop int he usual way when suddenly I started receiving bounce messages from spamcop, telling me that my spam reports were bouncing.

Basic message I get back:

content-type: message/delivery-status

Final-Recipient: rfc822;deputies[at]admin.spamcop.net

Action: failed

Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 5.x.0 - Message bounced by administrator (delivery

+attempts: 0)

Reporting-MTA: dns; per-qv1-irony2.iinet.net.au

iinet, btw, is my ISP - it is not my mailserver, it is the second step in my mailing process and afaik shouldn't be an issue... it is an intermediary only.

I can't give a report number to you becuase it never successfully got to you (so it seems) and I'd like to know why...

I have no idea if this is an actual mailhost problem, but I am using that system, so I thought it might be a reasonable guess. I've been using it for several months now with no problem.

I also used nslookup to check that: my current computer, my actual domain, and my mail serve all were not lblacklisted (none fo them were blacklisted).

I tried emailing the guys at deputies at admin.spamcop.net (yes I did substitute correctly) but it also bounced.

What's going on?

:(

Taryn

Hi, Taryn!

...Are you certain that your e-mails are being bounced by SpamCop? Perhaps IINet is doing the bouncing. It's hard to tell from the snippet of bounce message you posted -- I presume that is all you got. Are you able to post the internet headers of the bounce?

...For more information on how to view the internet headers of an e-mail, please see SpamCop FAQ: How do I get my email program to reveal the full, unmodified email?.

Also, the message you posted appears to be from that message to the deputies as you should not be emailing your spam to that address (unless that is the problem).