Jump to content (mail2.lear.com) blocked


Recommended Posts

Log extract:

DecĀ  8 10:20:48 internetsrv postfix/smtpd[26093]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from mail2.lear.com[]: 554 Service unavailable; Client host []

blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml? - see http://bl.spamcop.net for additional info. If this was actually a legitimate email to a real user, please forward this message to ---[at]--- for assistance.; from=<---[at]lear.com> to=<---[at]---> proto=ESMTP helo=<mail2.lear.com>

http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblo...p= says: not listed in bl.spamcop.net

Link to comment
Share on other sites not listed in bl.spamcop.net


You are correct that the IP address does not, now, appear to be listed but with a little probing I did find that the server has been bouncing messages back to sender with the subject: **ANTI-VIRUS NOTIFICATION** - DO NOT REPLY


Chances are that these messages are being returned to forged addresses and then being identified as spam. This in turn gets the ip listed for short periods.

Warning messages would have been sent to the registered abuse address at abuse[at]mci.com

If you take a look at the FAQ there is some explanation of this problem and why bounced messages tend to get a mail server listed on various block lists.


Hope that helps.


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...