Jump to content

my server's ip isn't blocked, and niether is my IP


Recommended Posts


I got this message and contacted my mail provider and they said that the IP listed is not the IP used for the mail server. I checked my personal IP on my internet connection, and it's not the one listed in the email as being blocked. Here's the message I got:

SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:

host mail.firstbaptistraytown.com [64.151.57.XX]:

554 Service unavailable; Client host [216.180.231.XX] blocked using bl.spamcop.net;

Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?216.180.231.XX

is this just a server my mail passes through at some point? How can I attempt to contact the owner of this IP? Thanks!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'll say the same thing .... an IP address does not include letters as seen in your example. The assumption is that you did that on purpose, but if that's the case, let me point out the obvious .... with those last numbers removed, trying to track down the "owner" of that IP address is pretty much a waste of someone's time on this side of the screen.

If you want to see if your e-mail goes through this server, send yourself an e-mail somewhere else and check the headers of that received e-mail.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

my fault,

here is the full link...



This server is listed having sent mail to spam traps. It should de-list shortly.

However, without seeing the specific headers it is hard to say where the issue arises. For whatever reason the receiving ISP sees this IP address as the source of the message(s) you're sending and says, in effect: 'Sorry, I don't want to receive Email from you at this time.'

Can you provide your SMTP server IP address?


Link to comment
Share on other sites

IIWY, I would ask host mail.firstbaptistraytown.com who is the one blocking you, why they sent you that message.

Apparently some server admins are not careful about the message that they send when blocking. Usually, when the IP is not on the spamcop bl, it is because the server admin is using the spamcop message as a generic message for whatever he is blocking with other lists or hir own list. This message doesn't quite fit that scenario. I am not a server admin so I don't know whether the message could contain the same IP address no matter who gets it.

However, the person who knows why the message was sent is host mail.firstbaptistraytown.com and they might be able to shed some light on what is going on.

The way to find out who belongs to an IP address is to go to www.arin.net and enter the IP address in the whois search.

This is the information I got

OrgName: Global Net Access, LLC


Address: 55 Marietta St, NW

Address: Suite 1720

City: Atlanta

StateProv: GA

PostalCode: 30303

Country: US

ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.gnax.net:4321

NetRange: -



NetHandle: NET-216-180-224-0-1

Parent: NET-216-0-0-0-0

NetType: Direct Allocation

NameServer: DNS1.GNAX.NET

NameServer: DNS2.GNAX.NET


Comment: Comment: ********************************************

Comment: Comment: Reassignment information for this block is

Comment: Comment: available at rwhois.gnax.net port 4321

Comment: Comment: ********************************************

RegDate: 2002-06-19

Updated: 2004-02-06

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE745-ARIN

OrgAbuseName: Abuse

OrgAbusePhone: +1-404-230-9150

OrgAbuseEmail: abuse[at]gnax.net

Again, I don't see how that will help you find out why firstbaptistraytown.com did not accept your email.

Miss Betsy

Link to comment
Share on other sites

" not listed in bl.spamcop.net"

Report History for shows 10-20 hits, all to Spamtraps.

What outgoing email server (SMTP) Name or IP Address do you have configured in your email software? Thanks!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Looks like the newest reports for that IP date back to December last year:

Report History:


Submitted: Monday, December 19, 2005 7:35:01 PM -0500:

1592262231 ( http://www.bronxtel.net ) To: abuse-isp[at]covad.com

1592262229 ( http://microsoftwvworksf4lp2938k4l6txxa2ffskxff... ) To: cnc-abuse[at]abuse.sprint.net

1592262228 ( http://extremediscountcomodcyt0chbduxk661boo1bo... ) To: cnc-abuse[at]abuse.sprint.net

1592262226 ( http://microsoftwvworksf4lp2938k4l6txxa2ffskxff... ) To: postmaster[at]china-netcom.com

1592262225 ( http://extremediscountcomodcyt0chbduxk661boo1bo... ) To: postmaster[at]china-netcom.com

1592262223 ( ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com

1592262222 ( ) To: abuse[at]gnax.net


Submitted: Tuesday, December 13, 2005 9:43:48 AM -0500:

1584999634 ( ) To: abuse[at]gnax.net


Submitted: Tuesday, December 13, 2005 9:43:11 AM -0500:

1584999721 ( ) To: abuse[at]gnax.net


Submitted: Tuesday, December 13, 2005 8:23:13 AM -0500:

1585181260 ( ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com

1585181235 ( ) To: abuse[at]gnax.net

There is however some disturbing history of abuse from Global Net


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...