why should I report to spamcop if gmail already filters spam out?

kamaraju

I am a newbie to spamcop. I do not want to raise flame wars or sound presumptuous or anything like that.

I already have a gmail account and gmail filters the spam quite efficiently without any false positives and puts it in the spam folder without any charge whatsoever. So my questions are

1) I am not a paid member of spamcop. If gmail already filters the spam out, what is the point in reporting to spamcop?

2) Is it just to help out others? If that is the case, then I think it is too much to expect someone to go through the delay of 6 seconds to submit one spam email. Please note that I have tried this system for the whole of today (reported about 50 spam emails through the web interface) and it is pretty boring to say the least.

If it is just to help out others, how do you justify the 6 second delay that you are imposing upon people who are trying to be helpful to you without expecting anything in return?

thanks

raju

... If it is just to help out others, how do you justify the 6 second delay that you are imposing upon people who are trying to be helpful to you without expecting anything in return?...
Certainly it is purely altruistic to report if you are aleady happy with a solution which doesn't involve the SCBL.

There may be a better way to report through gmail than your present paste in method (batch submisstion via email) - have you looked at

http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=3581 ? It does look a bit cumbersome to me, whatever way you use it with gmail (which I don't use)