Jump to content

Exchange Hosting Spam?


Recommended Posts

I'm not sure what this one is about.


Someone with a Comcast account "neutral (mx) client-ip=" wants me to confirm my domain (name) registration.

The A record for that IP goes to:

Exchange Hosting

Tier1 Data Center. Live Instantly Shared & Dedicated. MS Gold Cert.


The (purported) sender has the return email; <admin[at]freehuh.com>

domain: freehuh.com

created: 20-Nov-2006

last-changed: 21-Nov-2006

registration-expiration: 20-Nov-2007

nserver: ns1.servdns.com

nserver: ns2.servdns.com

I've never heard of these folks.

Since the email came via Open Relay, and whoever it is registered their domain this month, I have to assume it is some kind of scam; but what?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just my assumption (based on other experience) .. you reply to that one, the next thing you'll see is that "money is due" for the renewal/re-registration process ....

Ahhh so. I thought I remembered reading something about that one in this forum last year sometime. I just couldn't put my finger on it.

The sods are clever. I'll give them that. The registration is up for renewal Dec 1 ..... 07, and I had to check to be sure I hadn't mistaken the year. I've done dumber things; after all.

It did give me a start, though. I had to do the "vulture" routine to catch that domain name when it came up for renewal. The original 'owner' never complained, so I assume they let it go voluntarily; ... or died.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...