Unauthorized use of my email address

attorneysdca

I am new to this but received over 50 emails one morning telling me that mail I had sent was undeliverable. Investigation showed that this spam mail was apparently sent using my business email address and from at least 50 different email accounts from various places around the world. I got a lot of the IP addresses in the bounce back emails and traced them to Istanbul; Amsterdam; London; Germany and the USA.

I know that anyone can make an email look like it's coming from your email address, but the scary thing about this was the sheer volume of different users, from different places around the world, using my address apparently all at the same time. Does anyone know how this can occur and how dangerous it is when it happens???

Any info will be appreciated.

To quote another frequent poster:

"spam" is a trademark of Hormel Corporation, so please do not use it here to refer to unsolicited e-mail (spam). Please see spam and the Internet , especially the third paragraph. Thanks!

It is not dangerous. Almost everyone with the power to interfere with your email recognizes that it is a common forgery (those who don't are not likely to be the internet service providers for your correspondents).

Miss Betsy

This is a very common question -- see this wiki entry for more info.

Thanx Rick. That wiki link was VERY helpful. The only question I have, after reading that entire link, is how to 50 different people start using my email address all at the same time??? The bounce back emails showed all different IP addresses, different email hosts and even different countries. The link seemed to explain how "a spammer" could use my address but how do 50 different spammers from around the world start using it simultaneously???