Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About shochat

  • Rank
  1. shochat

    Webmail Beta

    This is a thank you for a huge improvement in the beta that I don't see that anyone has mentioned: Access at work though our proxy server is MUCH faster with the beta. With the regular version, access through the proxy server is (and has always been) extremely slow (like 20 seconds or more to respond to a mouse click) although it has always been fine when accessed from elsewhere, and although other web mail systems have always worked fine through the proxy server. Anyway, spamcop mail's unique incompatibility with our proxy server has disappeared with the change to the new beta. Thank you, whoever is responsible for this particular change. -- David
  2. Thanks. I have removed my address from my whitelist (I don't even remember putting it on in the first place). That's interesting. Maybe I can use the Sender: to handle my mailing lists more efficiently (make my whitelist much smaller).
  3. Recently, I have been getting a great deal of image spam that has not been caught in Held Mail. I decided to take a look at some of these, and found the following at the end of the header: X-SpamCop-Disposition: Blocked SpamAssassin=15 X-SpamCop-Whitelisted: (my E-mail address) Does this mean spamcop mail thinks it is from me (and to me)? The From: on this is certainly not my E-mail address. Nor is it on my whitelist. However, I did notice this at the top: Return-Path: (my E-mail address). What does this mean? Is spamcop mail seeing a forged Return-Path and assuming I sent this spam to myself? Is there anything I can do to prevent this being incorrectly classified as "whitelisted"?
  4. shochat

    Bogus bounce

    Done. Posted in spamcop.spam with subject "Bogus bounce" 9:57:15 PM EST. No actual payload in the bounce I received. It was supposedly cleaned.
  5. I have recently started to use my spamcop.net E-mail account more and am considering switching over to it completely. However, I received a troubling bounce today to a message ostensibly from me, which I had never sent. Furthermore, the bounce seems to imply that the message I supposedly sent contained a virus. The most confusing part is that when I study the source of the bounce, particularly the included source of the message being bounced, I see this: Received: from spamcop.net (localhost []) by mx3.interplay.com (8.12.10/8.12.9) with ESMTP id i0TN7W0K023161 for <maria[at]interplay.com>; Thu, 29 Jan 2004 15:07:32 -0800 Now what does that mean? Does it mean that I was being spoofed by someone inside interplay.com? The bounce message I received did seem to have come legitimately from mx3.interplay.com (the sending IP address matched mx3.interplay.com in DNS). Should I just ignore this? The idea of someone sending a virus-laden message supposedly from me is kind of troubling. -- David