Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by kenh

  1. Note this message about an email sent earlier to my spamcop address: :angry: Delivery failed 12 attempts : Body of message generated response: 451 connection to mail server rejected (#4.4.1)
  2. Mail is not coming through to my spamcop account. I checked for copies on another account and they are there. Are you having problems again?
  3. Any guess when things will be back to normal. This is the worst delay I can recall in nearly 10 years of using SpamCop.
  4. All I have received since yesterday is some spam. No regular email at all and I am expecting some time critical stuff. Any idea when things will be back to normal?
  5. I would think that if Roaring Penguin rates something as a 7 and a 99.99 percent probability that is is spam, SpamAssassin should also give it a high score. How are the criteria for SpamAssassin established? I just went to the Roaring Penguin website and it says their software is based upon SpamAssassin. How then can the ratings be so different???? Now I am really confused. Ken
  6. I have no idea where the Roaring Penguin info is coming from. Perhaps it is my ISP but I don't know for sure. I have Spamcop set to a SpamAssassin score of 5 so it should be picking up this garbage too??????? Ken
  7. Here is the complete header on one of these pieces of spam. I have x'd out my e-mail address. X-spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.1.1 (2006-03-10) on blade1 X-spam-Level: * X-spam-Status: hits=2.0 tests=SARE_CSNUMTAG,SARE_RMML_Stock4, UNPARSEABLE_RELAY version=3.1.1 Received: from unknown ( by blade1.cesmail.net with QMQP; 9 Nov 2006 19:32:10 -0000 Received: from mail.directus.net (HELO directus.net) ( by mailgate.cesmail.net with SMTP; 9 Nov 2006 19:32:10 -0000 Received: from SMTP32-FWD by xxxx.xxx (SMTP32) id A823E01B30000EF7C; Thu, 9 Nov 2006 14:32:14 -0500 Received: from canit.directus.net [] by directus.net with ESMTP (SMTPD-8.20) id A23E07C8; Thu, 09 Nov 2006 14:32:14 -0500 Received: from -1214940928 (88-104-5-9.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com []) by canit.directus.net (8.13.4/8.13.4) with SMTP id kA9JqXxs005244 for <xxxx[at]xxxx.xxx>; Thu, 9 Nov 2006 14:52:39 -0500 Received: from ghanareview.com (-1214534096 [-1214539128]) by gerrytanner.com (Qmailv1) with ESMTP id DFDEE3011A for <xxxx[at]xxxx.xxx>; Thu, 09 Nov 2006 14:30:03 -0600 Date: Thu, 09 Nov 2006 14:30:03 -0600 From: "Bloomer S. Gucci" <extstp[at]ghanareview.com> X-Mailer: The Bat! (v2.00.2) Personal X-Priority: 3 Message-ID: <5809710179.20061109143003[at]ghanareview.com> To: Pwrr <xxxx[at]xxxx.xxx> Subject: [spam:******* 7.0 SpamScore] Investment Strategy MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit X-Virus-Scanned: by AMaViS perl-11 mion X-Bayes-Prob: 0.9999 (Score 5) X-CanIt-Tag-Reason: score = 7.0; probability = 0.9999; hold_reason = SpamScore X-CanItPRO-Stream: 12_Moderate X-Canit-Stats-ID: 8221572 - 8e91405497db X-Scanned-By: CanIt (www . roaringpenguin . com) on X-SpamCop-Checked: Ken
  8. I keep getting spam, usually for investment scams, with something like "Subject: [spam:******* 7.0 SpamScore] Investment Strategy" in the subject line. Within the header is something like "X-CanIt-Tag-Reason: score = 7.0; probability = 0.9999; hold_reason = SpamScore". If the score is this high and the probability is 99.99%, why isn't this stuff being blocked? I have my options set to block anything of 5 or higher. :angry: Ken
  9. Thanks. I will give it a try. I tried the address you mention and it bounces. The message is no such user.
  10. My email address has changed but I am totally unable to change my default identity or to add a new one. Evcerything seems to take, I get a message that the change has been made, plus the same error message that everyone else has reported. This is maddening because every message I send shows an invalid reply address. How in the devil do I fix it?
  11. At this point I get a blank page no matter if I use the secure system or http://webmail.spamcop.net. Everything except this forum seems to be down.
  12. I am having the same problem. Spamcop News says that there was a problem earlier but that is has since been corrected. Not so! I get nowhere with Internet Explorer and with FireFox get a blank screen. What is going on?
  13. kenh

    JPEG Spam

    Since I first reported this, I have been getting several of these jpeg spams per day, some of which are pretty bad. I report them but the graphic, of course is lost without OCR. They have an innocuous subject line and often have some nonsense text in very small type size under the jpeg. Nothing in thse messages would be caught by normal spam filiters unless some sort of OCR is implemented.
  14. kenh

    JPEG Spam

    Thanks but the answer is obviously that there is no easy answer. :angry:
  15. kenh

    JPEG Spam

    I have been receiving a lot of spam recently which gets by the Spamcop filters because it has no text, only a JPG or other graphic. Some of these are pretty darn sophistocated and at first glance appear to be a well crafted html message but, in reality, are just a graphic. :angry: Is it not possible to block spam of this nature?
  16. I am unable to access either webmail.spamcop.net or webmail.cesmail.net. I was unable to download any e-mail via Eudora which I use. I went into the properties file and changed the server name from pop.spamcop.net to mail.spamcop.net. I am now able to retreive e-mail but still cannot access webmail. What is going on?
  17. :angry: I am totally unable to access e-mail from my spamcop account, either directly or via web mail. webmail.spamcop.net comes back with a reply that the site does not exist. What is wrong?
  18. I am extremely careful (obviously) but I am surprised that these things got through Spamcop. If it is a new virus found within the past day or two, I can understand it but not when it is a well known virus. In terms of volume of e-mail, I get an incredible volume, often from people I do not know but which have legitimate attachments. I do a lot of volunteer work internationally and many people from many countries send me files. I have to be extremely cautious about them which Is why I use Spamcop plus McAfee plus ZoneAlarm plus a router with a firewall. KenH
  19. They definately went through Spamcop's servers. All of my e-mail is routed through Spamcop. The following is the header and message of the latest virus. I have x'd out my addresses to keep others who may see this message from harvesting them. The zlq extension on the virus was changed by my firewall to prevent it from being executed. This was a variant of the Bagle virus. The same virus came in a day or two earlier but I deleted the message. The prior six viruses were also deleted. I don't recall which viruses they were. The Bagle virus was new at this time but the prior ones were fairly well known. X-Persona: <Spamcop> Return-Path: <ice[at]countryrv.com> Delivered-To: spamcop-net-xxxxxxx[at]spamcop.net Received: (qmail 25749 invoked from network); 20 Jul 2004 12:46:57 -0000 Received: from unknown ( by blade1.cesmail.net with QMQP; 20 Jul 2004 12:46:57 -0000 Received: from dns2.canberranet.com.au (HELO canberranet.com.au) ( by mailgate.cesmail.net with SMTP; 20 Jul 2004 12:46:57 -0000 Received: from Service2.org (unverified []) by canberranet.com.au (SurgeMail 1.9b) with ESMTP id 119242 for multiple; Tue, 20 Jul 2004 22:51:14 +1000 Return-Path: <ice[at]countryrv.com> Date: Tue, 20 Jul 2004 07:41:49 -0600 To: "Kenh" <xxxx[at]xxxxx.org> From: "Ice" <ice[at]countryrv.com> Subject: Re: Message-ID: <hjgldglfbboksawuqan[at]icoste.org> MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="--------znotujijepiistgtasks" X-Server: High Performance Mail Server - http://surgemail.com X-SpamDetect: *: 1.600000 X-Verify-MX present=1.6 X-Verify-MX: <ice[at]countryrv.com> senders ip (ch= msg=, net=66.63.) not in mx data dom=countryrv.com ipname=port180.tb3.industryinet.com ( X-IP-stats: No info recorded yet X-External-IP: X-spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.63 (2004-01-11) on blade1 X-spam-Level: X-spam-Status: hits=0.9 tests=HTML_30_40,HTML_MESSAGE,MIME_HTML_ONLY version=2.63 X-SpamCop-Checked: >foto3 and MP3 MP3.zlq KenH
  20. You can white list an entire domain. Just enter the domain on the white list without the full e-mail address. For example, to whitelist all AOL addresses enter aol.com on your white list. There is no need to enter each and every AOL correspondent's full address. This is dangerous however because you will open the flood gates to all spam with an aol.com return address. You pays your money and make your choices. KenH
  21. Over the past three months, I have received e-mail eight times which contained a virus. My anti-virus software caught the viruses but why didn't Spamcop's filters find them? Today I received one with a false MP3 file attached. My firewall catches them as does McAfee but they got through Spamcop. How? KenH
  22. I use AdSubstract. I shut down my anti-virus, firewall, and AdSubtract and webmail opened properly. I reactivated all three and it is still working properly. What I meant by instantly was 2-3 seconds. I enter my name and password, click my mouse to open webmnail and it immediately says my session has times out. That happened to me about 20 times with both Internat Explorer and Netscape. Now it seems OK. I am totally confused by the whole thing. KenH
  23. When I try to log in to my spamcop webmail account I instantly get a message that my session has expired. I cannot access the wbmail. What is the problem? Please let me know urgently at kenh[at]icoste.org.
  • Create New...