Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

fbn's Achievements


Newbie (1/6)



  1. Hi, I checked with the user and the client is clean (no viruses, no trojans etc). And I assume you are right that the "bad" (spamming) client has moved elsewhere (got another IP) as my user did the next day he connected. With a new and "clean" IP he was able to send the same mail that got marked as spam without any issues (no spam). I already told him that the only thing that can be done is to tell the ISP about it and/or change to another ISP which was not very welcome but understood. As mail administrator I just hope that this was a singular case but I highly doubt it Frank
  2. Nice comparison But I think it's a little bit more complicated than with vegetables. It's not me (the mail administrator) that has the contract - it's one of my users. To tell the users to go and find "good" ISPs ... I guess they would rather change the mail provider if I would tell them so. But that's not something technology (here SpamCop) can change, that's right. Frank
  3. It's not that easy. If my client now tells the ISP to give him only clean IPs they will tell him that they'll do the best they can - but they won't promise him that he'll receive clean IPs every time he connects to the internet. If it happens again he has to start a fight against the ISP to get out of the 24 month lasting contract. And how can he find out which provider does have clean IPs only or is removing bad IPs? I wouldn't now how ...
  4. Hi, thank you all for your replies. I understand that the ISP is responsible to give the clients a 'clean' IP. Too bad that it affects the customers who have no control over it at all. Frank
  5. Hi Andrew, thanks for your reply. Yes, that seems to be the case. If this problem is very common, how can admins and/or users avoid it? I mean, better get some more spam mails instead of loosing some ham mails ... Frank
  6. Hi, a client reported that his mails got identiefied as spam: 2.0 RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET RBL: Received via a relay in bl.spamcop.net [Blocked - see <http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?>] The blocked IP is a Client-IP from his ISP. Received: from fv.local (tmo-101-113.customers.d1-online.com []) I looked it up at spamcop.net but it says that it is not blocked or reported. He sent the very same mail again today with another Client-IP and it got not reported as spam. I wrote in another post in this forum that SpamCop not only checks the SMTP server IP but also the Client-IP. As the clients get different IPs every time they connect to the internet I don't know how I could prevent my users mails to be reported as spam. Is there some way to disable Client-IP checking or another solution/workaround? Thanks, Frank
  • Create New...