Are @spamcop.net addresses ever used to opt in?

Hey everyone, new user here sorry if this question is answered somewhere else, I sued the search feature first and saw no results for optin, and couldn't search for opt in as that search is three characters or less per word.

Moving forward, this is the sitch:

I'm an email administrator for an ESP - we HATE spam and try our best to send mail on an opt in only basis.

Things can get a bit tricky when dealing with existing lists that are imported into the system, we've got a number of filters and red flags that are set off by things like invalid mx records (most likely an old list) , some formatting queues, and a few other things.

That being said recently I ran into an account with a list that looks legitimate - However there is a spamcop.net address on it. I'm wondering if [at]spamcop.net accounts are ever used to legitimately opt into newsletter or followup emails.

If not, it is a clear indication of list harvesting on our potential customers part and thus we do not want to mail for them. If so it seems they are legit and keep a squeaky clean mailing program.

If you have any insight please let me know! We're doing our best to eradicate spam and any insight or guidance you may have is greatly appreciated!

-Brendan

Hi, Brendan,

...Welcome!

...First: thank you so much for first trying a search on your very first visit here! No, this is not a question to which you are likely to find an answer in this Forum.

...The answer is: yes, spamcop.net e-mail addresses are used by subscribers just like any other e-mail addresses, so it would not be a surprise that a legitimate opt-in request would have been sent from a spamcop.net e-mail address.

...You may be interested in the SpamCop FAQ (links to which appear near the top of each SpamCop Forum web page, including this one) entry labeled "Am I running mailing lists responsibly? Updated!"