Forwarding Spam

TheCursedONe

Hi,

I thought the best place to ask this question might be an anti-spam forum, so I figured I'd ask it here.

First of all I am committed to fighting spam. Hate it. I am a mail-server administrator and I have increased our spam filtering so that we filter about 96% of spam.

Recently I found my server IP on AT&Ts internal blacklist and didn't know why. My server is clean of viruses and I do not allow open relaying. Nobody on my server is sending bulk mail. So I read on AT&Ts anti-spam site and saw that they recommend that I spam-filter email that is forwarded from my server to other servers (i.e. if I have xxx[at]mydomain.com which is setup to forward to xxx[at]yahoo.com), which is something I do not do. Nor does it make any sense IMO for me to do it. Why should I spam filter email that is not to be delivered on my server - wasting my server resources?

I wanted to get other people's opinions on this and see what would generally be considered as best practice concerning this. Is AT&T being too paranoid/picky? (Like GoDaddy - which apparently automatically spam-blocks entire IP blocks) or is it generally considered to be standard practice that email that is forwarded should be spam-filtered.

I am not a server admin, nor am technically fluent so I am not going to be any help to you. But I will be interested to see what answers you get.

IIUC, ATT wants you to filter out the spam for them. Maybe it's because they are cheap. Maybe because it is harder to filter spam when it has been forwarded?