Jump to content

My account disabled - now I have to register all email addresses?


Recommended Posts

I have a couple of websites that use a ton of email addresses. They all go to the same root account but I have email aliases that I set up for each of my friends as well as any business or other website. That way I know if a company "sold" my email address without my permission, or if a friend's pc has become infected and is being used to send out spams. For example: one of my accounts has spamcop[at]-----com which is used just to monitor emails from this website. Does this mean I have to register every email address from each of my websites?

Lately I've been receiving a lot of phishing spams. Chances are most of these are being sent from botnets or hacked account/websites - as is the case of the majority of illegal spams. Apparently one of these raised a flag and my SpamCop account was immediately disabled.

I've been using SpamCop for spam reporting for well over 10 years. I've also helped the FBI, the DoJ and even the US Attorney General's office in getting illegal spammers arrested and prosecuted. Now SpamCop has shut down my account. Should I not file spam complaints on forged emails with links that are being hosted on hacked websites? Someone has to let those websites know their servers were breached and are being used for illegal purposes.

So, after reporting a phishing spam on my Gmail account I received a notice of suspension saying SpamCop needed to prevent me from reporting "innocent bystanders". Sorry - but when someone sends me an email with forged headers and claiming they have a 7.9 million dollar business deal for me (all I need to do is send them my personal information) I considered this spam. Gmail flagged it as spam and phishing - so I reported it. Now my services are suspended?

Please let me know what I did wrong so I can modify my spam reporting. I had thought any illegal spam should be reported.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My original though to this post was that you hit the daily limit of 500, however, https://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/350.html shows the limit as 3000. I believe you may need to follow the same instructions and work with Don at that service address to get your account reinstated.

I typically report spam from hotmail, yahoo, mail.com, gmail, and other accounts using one account. However, you should have separate accounts if you have other humans sending to that spamcop[at]....com address. Chances are legitimate email was "accidentally" reported using your account and this is what caused your issue. It is also possible that a spammer is just trying to fight back and believe that their "drug" or "buy my stuff" email is legitimate. Don can explain the what, why, and how you can correct the situation.

Chance are, you can get your reporting account back.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm the only one that does the reporting to SpamCop and the FTC. On average, I typically report 1-10 spams a day. They are all my accounts and all reported spams come to my Outlook inbox or are in my Gmail spam folder.

The spam they flagged me on was a phishing spam. Gmail flagged it as both spam and phishing.

Here's the spam - I've been flooded with the 419 style spams over the past few months and this falls right in with them. The header shows it was sent from the email account of Michael R Cooper, of iusb.edu. Cooper is just a custodian there ( https://www.linkedin.com/pub/michael-r-cooper/65/466/494 ) so it's pretty safe to say he's not sending blind emails with a legitimate $7,970,000 business deal... especially since the emails are bulk, unsolicited, and show no reply address other than what was mentioned in the message body.

Delivered-To: x
Received: by with SMTP id j192csp2163220lfb;
Thu, 16 Apr 2015 12:34:52 -0700 (PDT)
X-Received: by with SMTP id j1mr7931436igj.46.1429212891035;
Thu, 16 Apr 2015 12:34:51 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <mrcooper[at]iusb.edu>
Received: from hartman.uits.indiana.edu (belushi.uits.indiana.edu. [])
by mx.google.com with ESMTPS id d133si7433932ioe.17.2015.
(version=TLSv1 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-RC4-SHA bits=128/128);
Thu, 16 Apr 2015 12:34:51 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of mrcooper[at]iusb.edu designates as permitted sender) client-ip=;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com;
spf=pass (google.com: domain of mrcooper[at]iusb.edu designates as permitted sender) smtp.mail=mrcooper[at]iusb.edu
X-IronPort-AV: E=Sophos;i="5.11,590,1422939600";
Received: from mssg-relay.indiana.edu ([])
by irpt-internal-relay.indiana.edu with ESMTP; 16 Apr 2015 15:33:28 -0400
Received: from IU-MSSG-HUB103.ads.iu.edu (iu-mssg-hub103.ads.iu.edu [])
by mssg-relay.indiana.edu (8.14.7/8.14.4/IU Campus Communications Team) with ESMTP id t3GJXRBR015350
(version=TLSv1/SSLv3 cipher=AES128-SHA bits=128 verify=NOT);
Thu, 16 Apr 2015 15:33:27 -0400
Received: from IU-MSSG-MBX102.ads.iu.edu ([]) by
IU-MSSG-HUB103.ads.iu.edu ([]) with mapi id 14.03.0210.002; Thu,
16 Apr 2015 15:33:26 -0400
From: "Cooper, Michael R" <mrcooper[at]iusb.edu>
To: "x" <x>
Subject: Re Project of $-7,970,000
Thread-Topic: Re Project of $-7,970,000
Thread-Index: AdB4fDQ8wQ+ZedvxR3K2KY7gQ8EGkw==
Date: Thu, 16 Apr 2015 19:33:24 +0000
Message-ID: <0268________________________________4EC1[at]IU-MSSG-MBX102.ads.iu.edu>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
x-originating-ip: []
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable

Project of $-7,970,000 reply if you are interested: hamidqe123[at]outlook.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites

&nbsp &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp Sorry to hear of your problem. As gnarlymarley suggested, you will have to contact SC directly for this to be addressed to your satisfaction; your fellow users here will not be able to do more than guess at why your account was suspended. I'm not certain whether service[at]admin.spamcop.net will actually work -- I'd suggest that you include both Don D'Minion's most recent published address, spamcop[at]spro.net, and also the SC Deputies at deputies[at]admin.spamcop.net.

&nbsp &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp Good luck!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I just called the University of South Bend after finding the sender's name online at https://www.iusb.edu/uits/docs/SB.pdf

They verified Mike Cooper is employed there and that his email address was the one listed as the sender in the spam. I forwarded the spam to them and they sent it to their IT department. It was a legit spam sent from a hacked account.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...