Jump to content

Blocked-but not on black list


Recommended Posts

A message I sent from work (Beverly Public Library) was returned to me, indicating that our server is blocked. I checked our mail server ip (North of Boston Library Exchange, a public and college library consortium, and it is not blocked. But the server between us and the recipient is blocked. Should this happen? I contacted our administrator but since we aren't blocked, what can she possible do? Any way for us to resolve this problem? Does this happen often? Can we choose which servers our mail is routed through? I always assumed it was the luck of the draw.

Thanks for help.

Here is the returned mail with headers:

Date: Thu, 3 Mar 2005 14:45:04 -0500 (EST)

From: MAILER-DAEMON[at]cnchost.com (Mail Delivery System)

Subject: Undelivered Mail Returned to Sender


MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: multipart/report; report-type=delivery-status;


Message-Id: <m0307/13/04M04.0F967DC17F[at]zealous.cnchost.com>

Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

This message is from the mail server at host zealous.cnchost.com.

Your message could not be delivered to one or more

recipients. It is attached below.

<>: host mail.pingree.org[] said: 550 Your

mailserver was listed on bl.spamcop.net. Please contact your network

administrator (in reply to MAIL FROM command)

Reporting-MTA: dns; zealous.cnchost.com

X-ConcentricHost-2-54--MX-Queue-ID: 77CE2DD0DC

X-ConcentricHost-2-54--MX-Sender: rfc822; finberg[at]noblenet.org

Arrival-Date: Tue, 1 Mar 2005 13:48:25 -0500 (EST)

Final-Recipient: rfc822;

Action: failed

Status: 5.0.0

Diagnostic-Code: X-ConcentricHost-2-54--MX; host

mail.pingree.org[] said: 550 Your mailserver was listed on

bl.spamcop.net. Please contact your network administrator (in reply to

MAIL FROM command)

Received: from mail.noblenet.org (mail.noblenet.org [])

by zealous.cnchost.com (ConcentricHost(2.54) MX) with ESMTP id 77CE2DD0DC

for <>; Tue, 1 Mar 2005 13:48:25 -0500 (EST)

Received: from KATHY.noblenet.org ([])

by mail.noblenet.org (8.11.6/8.11.6) with SMTP id j21IwGx09634

for <>; Tue, 1 Mar 2005 13:58:17 -0500

Message-Id: <[at]mail.noblenet.org>

X-Mailer: QUALCOMM Windows Eudora Version

Date: Tue, 01 Mar 2005 13:28:19 -0500


From: R

Subject: Re: Poetry Contest Entry: Inside and Out

In-Reply-To: <200502282314.j1SNEn914212[at]www.noblenet.org>

References: <200502282314.j1SNEn914212[at]www.noblenet.org>

Mime-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: multipart/alternative;


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks for the advice. I hope I removed enough info while leavng the necessary bits.

Does being on someone else's list mean it would still be blocked by the server using the SpamCop blacklist? We aren't on the SpamCop list but that's who is listed in the email. I don't mean to sound dumb. I'm just trying to figure out what's happening. I have read the FAQ's but i didn't find anything that fully answered my question. The stop-spam listing was in May of 2004. Would we still be black listed nearly 12 months later?


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sometimes people use the bl.spamcop.net explanation no matter where the IP is actually listed. If the receiver is using the stop-spam listing then your message would still be blocked. Most listings require the administrator of the blocked IP to do something to be delisted. That is the best thing about the spamcop bl in my opinion, it may block quickly, but it also delists automatically when the spam stops.

The only way to find out exactly why you were blocked (and what IP was blocked, since that is not listed in the error message either) would be to contact the administrator doing the blocking.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...