Jump to content

Blocked but not blacklisted


Recommended Posts

Apologize in advance if I have jumped the gun.

I have tried to send a message several times today and gotten the same bounce each time by Spamcop. I have check the blacklist and found no listing. I have also sent several messages after finding nothing on my IP in the blacklist, but still get the same bounces. I cannot parse the message for a reason.

Thanks, in advance, for your help. Let me know, if you need any other information.

The original message was received at Wed, 7 Dec 2005 13:35:08 -0600

from []

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----


(reason: 501 5.7.1 <Robert.Bredt[at]dshs.state.tx.us>... Sender refused by the DNSBL bl.spamcop.net)

----- Transcript of session follows -----

... while talking to mail.lists.cytopathology.org.:

>>> MAIL From:<Robert.Bredt[at]dshs.state.tx.us> SIZE=1504 RET=FULL

<<< 501 5.7.1 <Robert.Bredt[at]dshs.state.tx.us>... Sender refused by the DNSBL bl.spamcop.net

501 5.6.0 Data format error

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Post moved from SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > How to use .... > SpamCop Forum to the SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help forum section

"Error message" doesn't follow the recommeded set-up, so the sending IP address is still in question. The IP address you describe as "from" is the same as the IP address you posted from ... that an e-mail server is also being used as one's Internet connection to the world is a bit rare, so the thought that the actual IP address of the e-mail server is still a question, probably relating as to why "your" IP address is seen as not listed, as you/we are looking at the wrong "number" ...

The fact that some ISPs have mis-configured their servers to return the "wrong" error message can't be discounter either.

So what "we" really need is the IP address of the e-mail server that your e-mail used to try to delived itself elsewhere. For example;

ns2.dshs.state.tx.us reports the following MX records:

Preference Host Name IP Address TTL

10 apple.dshs.state.tx.us 86400

10 orange.dshs.state.tx.us 86400

But these addresses may not be the "outgoing" server addresses.

Neither of these listed on the SpamCopDNSBL either, no traffic noted in the SenderBase details



Link to comment
Share on other sites

So what "we" really need is the IP address of the e-mail server that your e-mail used to try to delived itself elsewhere.

Thanks much. Looking in my options in outlook on the message, I found this address:

Received: from smtpexch2.tdh.state.tx.us (smtpexch2.tdh.state.tx.us [])

Which yielded this listing:


I will send it on to my IT folks and see what they wish to do. Thank you much for your help.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=ipaddr...g= suggests that they're possibly already at work?

Volume Statistics for this IP

Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average

Last day ......... 3.6 .. -84%

Last 30 days ... 4.2 .. -29%

Average ......... 4.3

The description; Causes of listing

System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)

suggests that the root cause of getting listed may have 'easily' identified once it got to being looked for. That someone tried to de-list it once before actually resolving things hurt matters. But the clock is now showing "it will be delisted automatically in approximately 3 hours."

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...