No source IP address found, cannot proceed.

Dee

Apologies if this has been raised before - I have supposedly looked.

My emails arrive via Outlook Express and I have always sent the complete message as an attachment to spam Cop which has always been able to establish the source of the mail.

In the last week or so, everything has been "rejected" as "No source IP address found, cannot proceed". If, however, I open the original email, go through the properties and message source procedure then copy and paste the whole lot into the submission box, the system can establish the IP address and I can report the spam as normal.

Is anyone aware of any changes that I have overlooked - I am definitely no expert when it comes to the intricacies of computers, or am I doing something wrong?

Many thanks

Dee

I am not technically fluent either, but I would bet that someone will ask you if you have mailhosts configured yet?

Mailhosts configuration is done by spamcop to determine what header lines belong to your email so that the possibility of reporting your own ISP is lessened. If you have configured mailhosts, then possibly it could be that your ISP has added a relay or something (remember I am not an expert) and that is confusing the parser. I don't know why it would get confused submitting by email and not the other so it may be something else entirely.

The problem is that, for some reason, the parser is stopping before it gets to the source when you email it, but keeps on going when you submit via the web form. Someone is also bound to ask you for a Tracking URL for an emailed one and one submitted by the web form (with Technical Details turned on). How to find Tracking URLs and Technical Details are both in the FAQ.

Miss Betsy

... Is anyone aware of any changes that I have overlooked ...