[Resolved] General question about usage and procedure...

Xar

Hello. I've been using Spamcop webmail now for about 6 months. I use SpamCop's SMTP and POP3 servers to send and receive mail to my email client (MS Outlook 2002).

This is a general question about use and whether or not what I'm doing is helping out anybody at all. Here's how I use Spamcop...

1. I log in via webmail. Anything that is in my INBOX that is spam I mark and use the "Report as spam" link. Then these disappear.

2. I pull all remaining legitimate mail to my inbox in Outlook via pop3 (and send out any pending emails in outlook via SMTP)

3. A few times a day I will go into my "held mail" area of Spamcop. I scan it for anything that is legitimate that might have been accidentally blocked. After releasing anything that was legitimate, I mark the whole mess and use the "Report as spam" link and the whole thing gets sent out to reporting.

I get anywhere from 50 to several hundred spam mails in my "Held Mail" area every day. I am wondering if by going in and doing the (minimal work) of marking and reporting spam in both my inbox and held mail areas in spamcop webmail is doing anyone any good. I have never used the more complex "Report spam" form/link - I only mark messages and use the "Report as spam" link. I have reporting turned off so I never see any feedback in email but I can view my reports.

Is what I'm doing valid? Or am I just wasting my time by marking spam and reporting it? How do I know if some spammer's account got canned because of it, meaning I actually did some good? Thanks in advance for the advice. :)

I have never used the more complex "Report spam" form/link - I only mark messages and use the "Report as spam" link. I have reporting turned off so I never see any feedback in email but I can view my reports.