Reporting Spam - User Guide

martind

A quick question - is there a 'best practice'/user guide available for managing/reporting spam using SpamCop? If not is it something we should seek to write to help people using SpamCop to make best use of it?

I'm new to SpamCop and even though I know quite a bit about the Internet/Web/E-Mail my detailed knowledge of spam (and the art of reducing spam!) is limited. I'd be interested in cooperating with others to create a guide if people thought it would be useful.

I am not sure that I understand what kind of guide you want to create.

Most people use some sort of filtering if they get more than 10 spam per day, I would think. The easiest way to filter and to report is to use the spamcop email system.

Since there is more than one way of using spamcop (free reporting only; paid reporting only and the email options - if any), there are different ways of managing your spam and your reporting.

There is the question of munging vs no munging. About how spam comes in waves. Whether to use quick reporting or not, be a mole or not.

You won't get any consistent answers.

And using spamcop does not reduce the spam that comes to you. Reporting and blocking is a long term solution.

I have a feeling that this topic will be moved to the Lounge (even though it clearly says 'not for spam topics' until we can get the forum reorganized to better fit its use, anything that is not direct help with a user problem or with someone who is blocked is being moved to the Lounge for discussion. If you are looking for the answer to a problem, you don't want to be stumbling over a long discussion.

Miss Betsy

A best practices would be a great idea! Especially for those of us who are more visual learners.