Jump to content

Mail server blocked but isn't relaying!

Recommended Posts


Spamcop isn't just a list of open relays - the SC list includes any IP addresses that have sent spam.

Your server may not be an open relay, but one of your users may have sent spam regardless.

Without the IP address that is listed, it's impossible to tell what's happening, sorry.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

vltsg.com,Jan 30 2004, 12:46 PM] We cannot get removed from this list yet we are only listed on spamcop.net. We have tested through ORDB.org and MAPS and neither of them test us as an open relay. Why is SpamCop blocking our email? Can someone please explain the system used by spamcop and why it has false positives?

Spamcop is not a list of Open Relays. Spamcop is a list of server IP's that have had repeated spam reports. These are not false positives.

Did you follow the lik in the reject message?

It seems this server has been sending a lot of mail to spamtraps. Those are unpublished email addresses that have never been used or have never asked for anything. Do you know how this could happen?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That data used to be posted but the spammers abused it to get off the list and to get their spam through so most of the evidence cannot be posted.

Spamtrap addresses will never get posted.

You can contact a deputy at deputies at Spamcop dot net for assistance if you are the admin of this machine.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

According to http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip= :

Query bl.spamcop.net - is 64-44-41-210.user.uswo.net listed in bl.spamcop.net (

Since SpamCop started counting, this system has been reported about 20 times by less than 10 users. It has been sending mail consistently for at least 2.8 days. It has been listed for 46 hours.

In the past week, this system has:

Been detected sending mail to spam traps

Been witnessed sending mail about 130 times

According to drbcheck at http://moensted.dk/spam/?addr= : was found in 5 lists (of 259 tested)

Been detected sending mail to spam traps is a kiss of death for any IP Address. ISPs whose IP Addresses have Been detected sending mail to spam traps need to review FAQ Entry "How can I be de-listed" at http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/298.html ASAP.

Also, please see the "Pinned: FAQ Entry: Why is my email blocked?" Topic at

http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=35 for more information.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I appreciate the response, but this does not help me. I have not gotten any blocked emails myself, I had a client who called to let me know that we were listed on the spamcop.net BL. I have tested for an open relay, which has tested to be secure, so it means that someone has emailed one of the "forbidden" emails. I have no examples of this, I have no header information. How do you fix the problem (I'm taking spamcop's word that we have a spammer on our server, which is just a corporate server, btw) without the proper information to help you resolve the situation?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...