Jump to content

ISP blocked


Recommended Posts

One of our mailservers has been blocked for spamming, but there doesn't seem any reason behind it. The ip is We have been monitoring the mail sent out from our server and there is no unusual traffic. Also senderbase has not recorded us spamming so I am at a loss as to why we have been blocked.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, it's listed: listed in bl.spamcop.net (

Causes of listing

SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week

Additional potential problems

(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)

Listing History

It has been listed for less than 24 hours.

The good news is that it will be delisted if the spam reports stop.

It is also listed elsewhere, looks like you might have a hacker lurking at that IP:


If you have been directed to this page in an e-mail error message, it's most likely because the IP address of the computer used to deliver your mail to us belongs to a network that has been found to be a source of repeated computer intrusion attempts. This is not to say that we have found your actions questionable, but merely that the actions of somebody within your general address range has caused us enough trouble to warrant blocking that entire address range from accessing our servers.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is there any way we can find out any more information about this? At the moment we've got alot of users unable to send mail as the ip is blocked, though I can see no reason for this.

Usually there is a sample of spam or reason for the blocking?

How are we possibly meant to eliminate the spam or find the offender with this small amount of information about the blocking?

None of the other ip's in our netblock appear to have been banned?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Parsing input:

host = elbow.netplan.co.uk (cached)

[report history]

Routing details for

[refresh/show] Cached whois for : abuse[at]mistral.co.uk

Using abuse net on abuse[at]mistral.co.uk

abuse net mistral.co.uk = postmaster[at]mistral.co.uk

Using best contacts postmaster[at]mistral.co.uk

Statistics: listed in bl.spamcop.net (

More Information.. not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org not listed in cbl.abuseat.org not listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net not listed in relays.ordb.org.

Reporting addresses:


Reports have been sent to postmaster[at]mistral.co.uk These will contain much more detail than can be shown on a public forum.

The checkblock page used to be real-time and show a lot more information but spammers were using that info to avoid being listed. Spammers spoil for everyone. BTW your customers can still send mail, a small minority of recipients will bounce it because of the spamcop listing, others will tag it as probable spam, many more don't use the spamcop list and will accept it as normal. It is not the 'sending' end that is blocked.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...