Sendmail with tcpwrappers

pkr

Hi, This is not exactly spamcop, but it is related to our implementation of spamcop.

spamcop is our primary and secondary MX for our domain.

Our mail server is closed up using tcpwrappers. No other mail servers can talk to it except for spamcop mail servers. If some one does try to connec to it. They get

Remote host said: 550 5.0.0 Access denied

Which causes the mail to bounce.

I want our mail server to return some error other that 550. Something more like service not available, this way the mail won’t bounce, it will just be queued up and delivery will be attempted later.

So, how do I get sendmail compiled with tcpwrappers to return something other than 550?

Thanks,

Alex

I have no knowledge of sendmail or tcpwrappers. I do have some comments/questions that may help others here answer your specific question, however.

First, your definition of bounce seems like it should actually be reject.

A bounce is when you accept the entire message and then send it back to the (usually forged) sender from the headers.

Usually, when a sending server gets an error message during connect, the sending server returns that message to the sender with the error code. This is good. The sender will receive a bounce, but from THEIR server.

If a 400 code is used, then the sending server will usually (not always) retry after a certain amount of time. After another set amount of time, the sender will still receive a bounce message from THEIR server stating the message did not go through.

Second, if your server is only allowed to receive messages from the spamcop servers, then why do you want their original server to try again at a later time. Won't it still be blocked? This would only delay the error message to the original sender (if it is a valid one).