Jump to content

Reporting addresses bouncing?


Recommended Posts



Why do reporting addresses for either an IP address associated with an email or a link in the email that SC finds an IP to associate with bounce and why does the ISP/host do nothing to fix it? Here's an example of a recent email below:




[report history]
Host lustergroup.com (checking ip) =
Resolves to
Routing details for
[refresh/show] Cached whois for : noc-abuse@mschosting.com noc@mschosting.com
Using abuse net on noc-abuse@mschosting.com
abuse net mschosting.com = tmcops@tm.net.my, postmaster@mschosting.com, postmaster@eastgate.net.my, postmaster@myloca.com, abuse@tm.net.my, hostmaster@mschosting.com, abuse@mschosting.com
Using best contacts tmcops@tm.net.my postmaster@mschosting.com postmaster@eastgate.net.my postmaster@myloca.com abuse@tm.net.my hostmaster@mschosting.com abuse@mschosting.com
tmcops@tm.net.my bounces (21 sent : 12 bounces)

Using tmcops#tm.net.my@devnull.spamcop.net for statistical tracking.

postmaster@mschosting.com bounces (261 sent : 131 bounces)

Using postmaster#mschosting.com@devnull.spamcop.net for statistical tracking.

postmaster@eastgate.net.my bounces (257 sent : 129 bounces)

Using postmaster#eastgate.net.my@devnull.spamcop.net for statistical tracking.

postmaster@myloca.com bounces (280 sent : 147 bounces)

Using postmaster#myloca.com@devnull.spamcop.net for statistical tracking.

abuse@tm.net.my redirects to abuse@tm.com.my
hostmaster@mschosting.com bounces (261 sent : 131 bounces)

Using hostmaster#mschosting.com@devnull.spamcop.net for statistical tracking.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

looking up the abuse.net db on mschosting .com shows the aforementioned list...


hostmaster and postmaster addresses are AFAIR quite old (10+ years) and often not used anymore... therefore the bounces.

The tmcops address could be an old entry as well and it was never updated...

There is also another possibility that all the addresses DO exist, but they have been either neglected or forgotten and the mailbox filled up and overflowed... ergo another bounce...

Officially, APNIC lists noc-abuse for the mentioned IP address as the abuse address


Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 9/7/2019 at 11:49 PM, RobiBue said:

hostmaster and postmaster addresses are AFAIR quite old (10+ years) and often not used anymore... therefore the bounces.


This is in part why I have to check my whois for my domain every few months to make sure it is correct.  I am not sure if they have the same requirement for the whois for IP addresses.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...