Keep getting blocked

rjcalderon

I've been blocked for a couple of days now the description of the problem is: <******* #5.5.0 smtp;591 ******* your host [72.18.235.98] is blacklisted by bl.spamcop.net. No mail will be accepted>

we host our own e-mail server (exchange) and I've been through various steps to make our server more secure and I've disabled auto responders... I can't figure this one out. the site will say 24 hours untill we are no longer blocked but then after a few hours the timer starts over.

Any help? We are a medium sized winery and I consider this a rather large issue.

These are the senderbase statistics. I am not really technically fluent, but I think that increase is not a good sign. It usually indicates that your machine (or some machine on the same IP) has been compromised by spammers. Have you read all the possible exploits for exchange servers? (there are links in the Why Am I blocked FAQ)? A lot of times, it seems from reading other admin's posts, the place to look is not Port 25, but in your firewalls since the trojans use other ports.

Vol Change vs. Average

Last day 4.7 2403%

Last 30 days 3.6 125%

Average 3.3

Someone more knowledgable will be along shortly (but that isn't bad advice to look at the firewall logs).

Miss Betsy

Not good at all:

http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?72.18.235.98

72.18.235.98 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 22 hours.

Causes of listing

System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)

SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week

You are getting lots of real reports that do not look like auto responders. The spammers seem to have taken control of your server or some machine behind that IP address. Se below for some information on these reports