Ideal reporting strategy

MrT

I've just rediscovered spamcop after finally finding a bit of time to do something about this awful nuisance spam without having to keep changing email addresses.

From my explorations to date in this wonderful forum and using the spamcop resources it appears that an IP address can be blacklisted after x number of spam reports plus spamtrap, and stays that way for several hours or until the owner fixes it and requests a delist.

Up to now, I've simply been reporting the spam that isn't already on spamcop or spamhaus blacklists. I'm thinking that this might not be the best strategy.

Could someone tell me if I should also be reporting spams that I receive that are already on the spamcop blacklist? I figure this is probably important to keep it on the blacklist, but I'm new to spamcop so am not quite sure...

I can easily change my filters to accommodate this - even though it means more spam getting delivered - ugh :(

MrT.

... Could someone tell me if I should also be reporting spams that I receive that are already on the spamcop blacklist? I figure this is probably important to keep it on the blacklist, but I'm new to spamcop so am not quite sure....
Hi MrT - if you come up with "fresh" spam from an IP already on the SCBL your report will indeed reset the "clock" to help keep them listed while the spam run is continuing. Report as much or as little as you are comfortable with but certainly it is useful to keep the listing going while the spamming behavior continues. Come to think of it, even if "your" spam is not so fresh, further reports should count towards the "statistics" which affect the reputation rating of the IP and perhaps support a more rapid response if the spam run restarts in the immediate future after delisting. Worth doing for the sake of the SCBL if you have the resources.