Double link trick and multiple IPs

99clunk

Almost clever this one. (Given that I'm still learning it may not seem almost clever to anyone else...)

The spam for 'OEM software' contained the link:

masterhostfatal.info

Lookup gives:

; <<>> DiG 9.2.2 <<>> masterhostfatal.info a

;; global options: printcmd

;; Got answer:

;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 39487

;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 5, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:

;masterhostfatal.info. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:

masterhostfatal.info. 180 IN A 64.110.224.168

masterhostfatal.info. 180 IN A 69.232.236.43

masterhostfatal.info. 180 IN A 70.225.182.52

masterhostfatal.info. 180 IN A 70.237.116.152

masterhostfatal.info. 180 IN A 69.213.205.186

OK, I have to make several reports to cover the IP range, spread over a range of different reporting addresses. I'm going to try to find out how they set up this spread of multiple IPs, but if anyone wants to chip in in the meantime. My guess is that they just duplicate the A records, substituting new IP addresses. I haven't a clue, I'm new to this and don't mind saying so, never having set up a web server.

The page residing at masterhostfatal.info contains a manual link to www.yoroem.com, the site where they really want the traffic.

As a means of frustrating default reporting via Spamcop, it seems to be a new twist, as a bit more work is required over the default automatic report generation I used to always use. So be it - I'll take the challenge.

[Moderator edit - links broken. I note re the yoroem one, linkscanner initially said it received a suspicious request and refused to have anything to do with that url. That behavior has changed with repeated scans but I wouldn't touch it with a bargepole. Farelf]

If you want to really confuse yourself, dig a few more times. I'm willing to bet you get a different list of IP addresses each time.