Did something change?

Gobo

did something change in the configuration of how spamcop reports? I have been using spamcop for several years and haven't had a problem until today, my mail provider sent me this:

Hi. I have received three reports from spamcop today for mail sent to you.

Unfortunately Spamcop is dinging us because our spam appliance is the last

"relay" in the line before this mail hits <Mail Server>.

Please do not use spamcop to report this spam as it is wrongly targeting

calarts as the "source" of the spam.

I'm asking the admin at my mail provider if anything changed there, but is there any other explanation for this?

Thanks.

Hi, Gobo!

...Sorry to hear of your problem.

<snip>

my mail provider sent me this:

Hi. I have received three reports from spamcop today for mail sent to you.

Unfortunately Spamcop is dinging us because our spam appliance is the last

"relay" in the line before this mail hits <Mail Server>.

Please do not use spamcop to report this spam as it is wrongly targeting

calarts as the "source" of the spam.

<snip>
...If you are reporting your own provider, here is some information for your provider that may help explain why and give them guidance as to how they may be able to correct the problem from their end: Why does SpamCop want to send a report to my own network administrator?

...Please remember that when you signed up for SpamCop reporting service, you agreed to certain terms and conditions. Among these was:

SpamCop will send email on your behalf to the appropriate network administrator. Before using SpamCop, please read the following - you are responsible!

<snip>

4. I take full responsibility and assume all liability for email I send using SpamCop.

<snip>

You probably need to set up Mailhosts. It sounds as though spamcop is stopping at your ISP's 'spam appliance' and you are reporting your ISP.

Miss Betsy